Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was a great starting point. (Recipes exist to get ideas, not to follow.) I like vichyssoise, but am always a bit disappointed in the blandness. I added a clove of garlic and half cup of finely chopped fresh herbs (parsley, lovage, oregano, majoram, savory, thyme, basil and a lot of chives). I garnished with more chives and fresh cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
ok. I cheated and sampled the leek potato mixture as it was cooling. Awesome. But then I added the dairy - I used nonfat half and half - and suddenly this delicious soup became diluted, more fattening and less enticing. It was good. But prior it was exquisite. So next time, I'm adding the half and half a quarter cup at a time. Also, bacon bits and chives on top and with less cream a dollup of sour cream. Just like in baked potatoes! And who knows, may even serve warm instead of chilled. I'm out of control!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
try using non fat half and half instead of the cream. Works very well and cuts out a lot of calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Oh my! Simply sumptuous! I noted that some other reviewers fiddled with the recipe by using lowfat this and nonfat that or reduced fat other. DON'T! Keep this recipe exactly how it's written! Otherwise, it's just foreplay without sex! (Nice, but never as fulfilling!) Whilst I appreciate the idea of adding a scintilla of curry on top, I personally found it destructive to this wonderful dish. Definitely use fresh chives though, along with proper full fat cream and delicious rich chicken stock. I did add the lightest dusting of fresh cracked black pepper. Chilled to perfection, it was a symphony of flavour! Lovely. Absolutely Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Father Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
My first taste of Vichyssoise - excellent! Easy, straightforward recipe. Enjoyed it this warm summer afternoon with a fruit compote, fried bread fingers, and chilled Pinot Blanc, in the cool shade in my garden. Even my gourmet Belgian Shepherd loved it! Don't miss trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Just had gum surgery and my wife made this for me. Excellent. My wife even made herself a non-pureed batch without the cream and she loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Mmmm delicious. It is basicly a cold leek&potato soup, but the genious of it is the idea of serving it cold. I would never have thought of that. Very nice, smooth and pleasing in the summer heat. Must serve with a big chunk of bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I made this soup for my family tonight. It is VERY good!!! My husband said he would prefer it hot though. We may try it again this fall/winter that way. It is a very strong, rich soup. We ate it with a flatbread ( Also found on AllRecipes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I have made this five times now and love it! My husband actuallly prefers this served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe...just the thing for a hot day-easy and delicious. I threw in some scallions ans shallots I had on hand, just because. We enjoyed it with a big delicious ceasar salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States