Vichyssoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe is perfect! Like others, I added the cream about 1/4 cup at a time to get the right balance for my taste. Otherwise, it's just like the one my mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I used frozen shredded potatoes to save time and half&half to save calories... came out wonderfully! This is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACaneva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Good recipe, although the onion is a departure from most recipes I have tried. I think I prefer to use only leeks. "The finest of all cold soups - and the very best thing invented in the USA!" seems rather odd--unless there is a Vichy in Minnesota (?), and in terms of American inventions, the Ford T takes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I agree that this was a great starting point. I combined this recipe with the Classic Vichyssoise recipe by 2doulas and another from one of my cookbooks and ended up with a beautiful soup that my guests adored. The key is to use the herbs called for in the other recipe, sub white pepper for the black, use fat-free half-and-half instead of cream, and garnish with sour cream and chives. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Good recipe, but who needs all of that heavy cream? It is good on its own, or with a little bit of milk. Another tip is to add a few gratings of nutmeg....yes, nutmeg. Try it sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is a great basic recipe for Vichyssoise. Modify it too much and you won't have the real thing. I do use white pepper rather than black to keep the color true. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My mom and I loved it. Very savory and delicious. I agree that adding the extra toppings and maybe substituting half and half would enhance the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The recipe is basically sound but I found the use of Heavy Cream to be overpowering. I would make this again but use Half and Half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very yummy! Added some egg noodles, diced potatoes and carrots to the pureed soup. Also didn't put it as much cream as called for. Very delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sg
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Yummy hot or cold. I also used half and half rather than heavy whipping cream and it was delicious. I just slowly added it at the end to taste. It was wonderful garnished with fresh chives and ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States