Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was only okay. It wasn't fluffy, which I had hoped for. I don't remember if I didn't put salt in or not, but it was not salty enough. I doubt I'll make this again. Sorry, but it wasn't to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
As someone who cannot have wheat and yeast this recipe is wonderful. Even made a hamburger bun with it.I have spent over 5.00 a loaf for bread not even half as good!! I don't like cooking or baking much but this was easier than box mix cookies!! Thanks to the person for the heads up about freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe as well. It made 1 normal sized loaf. Cook time was about the same though. I also used honey and brown sugar because I was out of molasses. Seems like a hard recipe to mess up. Tastes good too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janine
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Just tried this and it turned out great. I halved the recipe, used almond milk, added 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and made them as hamburger buns. The baking time was reduced to 25 to 30 minutes. I got about 6 buns. Next time I will try to get them more even in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
What a great recipe! I've tried several wheat-alternative breads and they've all fallen short of the mark. This bread was moist and delicious, not to mention easy! Like several other reviewers, I substituted rice milk for regular milk and it was still fabulous. This is a keeper. I've made it every week for the past three weeks, it's THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acooper415
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! I halved the recipe for one loaf used sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds. Used one teaspoon blackstrap molasses and one teaspoon honey, 2 teaspoons baking soda. (that was an accident I forgot to half it..lol... but the bread came out lovely and tasty! Thanks for sharing a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Awesome! Nice texture, nice crispy crust. I used soy milk in place of regular ol' milk and added 1/4 cup flax and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. You could probably cram even more seeds in this loaf and it'd still turn out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is now the main bread eaten these days in my household! The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that I feel it needs double the molasses and double the salt, plus 1/2 tsp guar gum for each cup of spelt flour. A tip: You can also use double the sesame seeds or add another kind of seed like sunflower. Even pine nuts are awesome in this bread. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was easy and great tasting bread. it was a bit heavy,possibly because I used buttermilk as the liquid. As good as it tasted, could have used the loaf as a door stop. I did a variation with rye flour and unbleached bread flour (below) which is fantastic. Modified -Very Simple Spelt Bread Variation with Rye Simple Spelt Bread Variations ( one loaf) Variation #1 w/rye flour 2 cups spelt flour 1 cup rye flour 1 cup unbleached bread flour 1 teaspoon baking powder 2 teaspoon salt 2 1/4 cups skim 1 table spoon molasses 3 table spoon honey ** increase honey and molasses by a table spoon each for sweeter bread DIRECTIONS Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 9x5 inch loaf pan. In a large bowl, mix together all dry ingredients until well blended. Place liquids ingredients in a jar or container, mix well, microwave for one minute. Create a well in dry ingredients and half liquid, mix while adding remainder of liquid. Fold the mixture over and over several times. Place mixture in a Pam sprayed loaf pan. Sprinkle top with sesame , sunflower, or seeds of your choice. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden. Placing foil loosely over the top of the loaf while cooking and removing the last half hour of baking enhances the crust. Finally, the last ten minutes I brush loaf top olive oil and place back in for the final ten minutes baking. Sometimes mix garlic powder with olive oil. Everything can be mixed in 4 to 5 minutes ea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States