Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My new staple! I'd been searching for a healthy grain bread recipe -- and this is it! Bonus points for it being EASY! Halved this recipe. Replaced sesame seeds with sunflower and added about 1/4 c. flaxseed meal. Used 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda. My non-stick loaf pan was rusty, so I reached for my small cast iron dutch oven. Covered with lid slightly askew. About 50 min in my oven and it turned out deep golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is the best bread ever, wholesome and healthy. I was born in Germany, this is what I ate there. Instead of salting it more, I put European salty butter on the bread...yummy Living in the desert, I cut baking time down 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was only okay. It wasn't fluffy, which I had hoped for. I don't remember if I didn't put salt in or not, but it was not salty enough. I doubt I'll make this again. Sorry, but it wasn't to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
As someone who cannot have wheat and yeast this recipe is wonderful. Even made a hamburger bun with it.I have spent over 5.00 a loaf for bread not even half as good!! I don't like cooking or baking much but this was easier than box mix cookies!! Thanks to the person for the heads up about freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe as well. It made 1 normal sized loaf. Cook time was about the same though. I also used honey and brown sugar because I was out of molasses. Seems like a hard recipe to mess up. Tastes good too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janine
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Just tried this and it turned out great. I halved the recipe, used almond milk, added 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and made them as hamburger buns. The baking time was reduced to 25 to 30 minutes. I got about 6 buns. Next time I will try to get them more even in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
What a great recipe! I've tried several wheat-alternative breads and they've all fallen short of the mark. This bread was moist and delicious, not to mention easy! Like several other reviewers, I substituted rice milk for regular milk and it was still fabulous. This is a keeper. I've made it every week for the past three weeks, it's THAT good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acooper415
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
YUM YUM YUM! I halved the recipe for one loaf used sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds. Used one teaspoon blackstrap molasses and one teaspoon honey, 2 teaspoons baking soda. (that was an accident I forgot to half it..lol... but the bread came out lovely and tasty! Thanks for sharing a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Awesome! Nice texture, nice crispy crust. I used soy milk in place of regular ol' milk and added 1/4 cup flax and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. You could probably cram even more seeds in this loaf and it'd still turn out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States