Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exact. It was a little crumbly on the edges, still it made a good sized loaf and it was tastey. I would like to try different seeds next time for varieties sake. A very good recipe, my whole family liked it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe for spelt bread! I love that it's so simple and yeast free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My first time using spelt flour. I made this in the bread machine - halved the recipe, used whole grain spelt flour and added 2 tsp. of yeast. It is great toasted!!!! Very much like an English muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was my first time making Spelt Bread. I was not sure how it would turn out, but it was really good. Everyone loved it. The bread was moist and thick. I used Agave Nectar instead of Molasses. Had a very nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My new staple! I'd been searching for a healthy grain bread recipe -- and this is it! Bonus points for it being EASY! Halved this recipe. Replaced sesame seeds with sunflower and added about 1/4 c. flaxseed meal. Used 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda. My non-stick loaf pan was rusty, so I reached for my small cast iron dutch oven. Covered with lid slightly askew. About 50 min in my oven and it turned out deep golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is the best bread ever, wholesome and healthy. I was born in Germany, this is what I ate there. Instead of salting it more, I put European salty butter on the bread...yummy Living in the desert, I cut baking time down 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was only okay. It wasn't fluffy, which I had hoped for. I don't remember if I didn't put salt in or not, but it was not salty enough. I doubt I'll make this again. Sorry, but it wasn't to my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
As someone who cannot have wheat and yeast this recipe is wonderful. Even made a hamburger bun with it.I have spent over 5.00 a loaf for bread not even half as good!! I don't like cooking or baking much but this was easier than box mix cookies!! Thanks to the person for the heads up about freezing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe as well. It made 1 normal sized loaf. Cook time was about the same though. I also used honey and brown sugar because I was out of molasses. Seems like a hard recipe to mess up. Tastes good too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janine
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Just tried this and it turned out great. I halved the recipe, used almond milk, added 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and made them as hamburger buns. The baking time was reduced to 25 to 30 minutes. I got about 6 buns. Next time I will try to get them more even in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States