Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Nice and easy to make and tasty. One review I notice states that this recipe is gluten free, which it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
First time using spelt flour... I made half the recipe, one loaf... replaced molasses with honey... it turned out great... 2 year old liked it, husband liked it, even made sandwiches with the bread.. i was surprised it rose as much as it did... the texture turned out to be dense but fluffy somehow.. it wasn't a heavy bread once you got past the crust.. had it for several days when kept in a plastic bag sealed... and it took 5 minutes to put together! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Thank you Terri Martinez for telling us about the addition of the xanthan gum. Wow, it really made the bread feel chewier, like store bought bread. This is a keeper recipe. I ran out of my spelt store bought bread and would have had to drive 35 miles to Whole Foods to get it. This saved me a trip and will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I wasn't too impressed with this bread. It does not have yeast, so it's heavy. I'm not sure what would help with the taste. I'll have to experiment more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was a wonderfully simple recipe. I made it for a women's luncheon, and everyone loved it. Sliced nicely, great flavor, beautiful color, and gluten free! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent! Yum! I'm on an acid-alkaline balance diet so I made a 1/2 recipe, and substituted almond milk for dairy milk with great results. Spelt flour is usually considered to be slightly alkaline, as are sesame seeds, so this bread is one of the few that doesn't cause an acid problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My first time making spelt bread. It was more like banana bread consistancy. Next time I'll add more baking soda. It taste really good if you cut thinly and toast with a bit of jam. This is what I eat every morning.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
bread was to heavy and dense, sorry didn't work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is so good! Did not change anything. Nothing needed changing! I always put something on the top after baking is done, but somehow melted butter didn't seem the right thing to put on top. After reading the reviews, I mixed some butter and honey both at room temp, and put on top. Then sliced while still warm and put more butter/honey mix on the slice. MMMMM I love how quick, tasty and simple this is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This bread was simple and quick to make. I cut the recipie in half as it was the first time I have used spelt flour and was not sure how it would turn out. I took the advice from other reviewers and used honey in place of the molasas. I also added a tsp of baking powder, some ground flax and a handful of poppy seeds. Although the bread remained very dense, it rose up nicely and the taste is fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe. I will be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States