Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
The first time I made it, I only had enough spelt flour to make half the recipe using 2 9x4.5 pans. It came out perfect. A little low, but still tasted good. The next time I decided to full recipe. What a disaster. I filled the 2 pans and placed them in the oven. I had them in for over 1 hour and 30 minutes, because the toothpick never came out clean. I finally said, that's it, out they come. I sliced one once it was cooled an guess what? It was still raw. It never cooked. It grew nice and high and split at the top and looked nice and brown, yet inside it was not cooked. The half recipe worked fine. I used Almond Milk and Guave instead of milk and molasses. My husband loves this bread because he can't eat regular wheat bread. He hadn't had a sandwich for over a year and a half until I made this bread. That is why I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I have tried another recipe for bread w/spelt and it was much easier, this was too dense and had no flavor what so ever..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Fabulous recipe, I like the easy part...and it tastes great too. Reminds me soda bread, I buy sometimes at the local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Easy and very allergy-friendly warm out the oven with butter is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
After reading some of the comments, I decided to add an extra teaspoon of baking power to the half recipe that I made. It was very quick to put together and really delicious! I might add a little extra salt next time though. I then also made another half recipe into muffins, adding a 1/4 cup of sugar and 3 over-ripe bananas. This cooked for 30mins at 360F (1/2 recipe = 18 muffins) I love that the texture is so spongy... it stretches and springs rather than crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I used the whole grain spelt flour and followed the recipe minus sesame seeds, the flavor was okay, but the dryness and density of the bread sucks the moisture right out of your mouth, this definitely needs revision, I think I'll try adding bananas and walnuts as well as honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a GREAT recipe! No fat, no white flour, no yeast, no rising time and it's still a wonderful loaf of bread! I added about a 1/4 cup of honey after reading a few other reviews and used ground flax seed because I had no sesame seed. I think you can play with these ingredients a bit and still get good bread. Putting another loaf pan upside down on the loaf as it baked made a perfect LOOKING loaf too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Now one of my favorite recipes! I added millet, poppy, sunflower and flax with the sesame as well as a little garlic and onion. Happiness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The easiest bread I have ever made and tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
An excellent & easy bread, which I make with whole wheat. At first I was getting very ugly loaves: the top would crust over & then the still-wet interior batter would erupt through. Looked like a small volcano and even spilled over the side of the pan on occasion. After about 12 tries, I finally have a fix: I place the pans near the top of the oven; I lay aluminum foil loosely across each pan (buttered so it won't stick to the bread); remove the foil with about 20 minutes left on the clock. Now it is beautiful as well as tasty. I also sprinkle spelt seeds on the top because I like the effect, I use skim milk, honey rather than molasses, and I add 1.5 C raisins and 1 T of cinnamon. I also add 1.5 t of xanthan gum so it won't be so crumbly. This bread is so good I eat it without butter, jam, or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Habercom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States