Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a GREAT recipe! No fat, no white flour, no yeast, no rising time and it's still a wonderful loaf of bread! I added about a 1/4 cup of honey after reading a few other reviews and used ground flax seed because I had no sesame seed. I think you can play with these ingredients a bit and still get good bread. Putting another loaf pan upside down on the loaf as it baked made a perfect LOOKING loaf too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Now one of my favorite recipes! I added millet, poppy, sunflower and flax with the sesame as well as a little garlic and onion. Happiness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The easiest bread I have ever made and tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
An excellent & easy bread, which I make with whole wheat. At first I was getting very ugly loaves: the top would crust over & then the still-wet interior batter would erupt through. Looked like a small volcano and even spilled over the side of the pan on occasion. After about 12 tries, I finally have a fix: I place the pans near the top of the oven; I lay aluminum foil loosely across each pan (buttered so it won't stick to the bread); remove the foil with about 20 minutes left on the clock. Now it is beautiful as well as tasty. I also sprinkle spelt seeds on the top because I like the effect, I use skim milk, honey rather than molasses, and I add 1.5 C raisins and 1 T of cinnamon. I also add 1.5 t of xanthan gum so it won't be so crumbly. This bread is so good I eat it without butter, jam, or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Habercom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
First time making a gluten-free bread, and it turned out successful. I prefer a dense, hearty bread to a fluffy sandwhich bread, so this recipe was good for me as I used whole grain spelt flour and soy milk. Next time I would follow some of the other reviewers suggestions: adding a bit more molasses or honey and trying different seeds, nuts, spices and herbs. One problem I did have was my own fault: not greasing the loaf pan well. Had to prey the loaf out in chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wonderfully simple recipe. I "ground" the spelt in my Vitamix blender and it turned out fantastic. Maybe too dense for some tastes but my family and I love it. It rose a little too well...some dough overflowed from the loaf tin so I'll cut back on the baking soda next time or try a cover like some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is very good for a quick bread. I will definitely make it again (will add more salt next time since I thought it was a little bland). My husband loved it. This recipe is a God-send for me; I've been on a alkaline/no-sugar/no-yeast low-carb diet for the last three weeks and was really missing bread. I used the suggestions of another reviewer and used almond milk and agave syrup to fit into my diet requirements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
allergy friendly/dairy free, substitute milk with rice milk, substitute molasses with agave syrup (all natural low gi), use sea salt instead of salt, -- i have 3 under 5 children with lots of allergies and they ALL love this bread!! thank you so much. best recipe I've found. and great great great tip re: covering while cooking with similar sized pan- makes the crust like real bread and got my pickiest eater able to eat bread again!!! :) - i also left out the sesame seeds.. but when I use the brown spelt flour i add in flaxseeds. :) yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
So great! I omitted the sesame seeds (didn't have any) and added 1 t of xanthan gum. WOW! My gf dd LOVED this loaf of bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
made the recipe and omitted the sesame seeds and only used 4 cups flour and a little less than 2 cups milk to half the recipe. It turned out fabulous! very happy with this "quick bread recipe" i had an old aluminum pie pan that i put over the top of my glass pyrex bread pan. It made the crispiest, chewiest, most amazing crust all over! Love it!! I think next time I will try adding some different herbs to it to see what other varieties I can come up with! Thank you for this recipe, It made my dinner awesome! I think for the morning I will make a slice and toast it with some butter and cinnamon sugar...it is going to be a good day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States