Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made it the first time last weekend and everybody in the table loved it!! It's healthy and so easy to make. But it was a little dry and hard according to the original recipe, the second time I made it, I added more milk and baked it for 1 hour instead and it turned out perfect! It's suitable for people who are allergic to wheat or yeast or eggs because it requires non of that. My favourite spelt bread so far! Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Pretty good bread. I made some changes based on the many recommendations. Honey instead of molasses, almond milk, xanthum gum, and cinnamon. I loved it and my baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Fantastic recipes! Just a note, spelt flour is NOT gluten free! After reading the reviews, I noticed a comment that referred to it as gluten free. Spelt comes from the wheat family and is not safe for Celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Simple, delicious and forgiving. I only made half the recipe and made some changes. I used half whole spelt flour and half white spelt flour. I had no seeds or molasses, so I just used honey. We use skim milk here. Not sure if whole milk would make a difference. Very happy with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is the ONLY bread I use at my home, period. It is a phenomenal success with everyone in the family! I do have some changes. I use COCONUT MILK, COCONUT OIL, HONEY and one extra tsp of baking soda. Instead of the sesame seeds, I use ezekiel cereal (no wheat). For a treat, I put 1 tbsp of cinnamon and a handful of walnuts in the batter. It makes amazing toast and a gourmet sandwich. The other plus is that you can slice it incredibly thin for a sandwich with no guilt!! FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This came out very nicely, and I used poppy seed because thats all I had on hand. One thing, every time I make splelt bread it comes out looking like an alien is trying to escape from the pan, I don't know why that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Talk about easy. My diet has been so restricted and I have been paying a fortune for Spelt Bread at the health food store...thought I would give it a try. Very nice. Used soy milk & sunflower seeds & agave. Needs a little more salt though. Going to have a baking party with a friend and we are each going to make a loaf. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is an easy bread to put together and very tastey. I used coconut milk (vanilla flavored) in the recipe and it came out fantastic. This is a bread I will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I tried this because of all the great reviews and because it was so much easier than the normal bread I make. I followed the recipe exactly. I thought it had a terrible baking soda flavor, I could barely choke down one piece. Definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shwillia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good. Substituted flax seed for sesame seeds and almond milk for regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States