Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I've been trying various yeast-free spelt bread recipes for some time and this is so far the best - primarily because it rises so well and isn't dense. I used soy milk in the recipe because of intolerance to cows milk and the results were fantastic. Definitely the recipe for me from now on! And looking forward to making a savoury, tomato-and-herb version for dipping in olive oil (my favourite starter when my friends call round for food and a chin-wag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was suprisingly good, especially with so few ingredients! I didn't have sesame seeds, which would have been nice but to give it a nutty flavor I had almond milk (strange but true) which I used instead of the milk gave it a good nutrition profile and the nutty flavor it's supposed to have. I didn't have molasses so I used honey, everything still came out great and it looks pretty. Just don't overbake it. ALSO people, freeze this for later use because spelt goes SOUR after a couple days and it will taste terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Great for a spelt bread! I baked it in my solar oven and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have been trying unsuccessfully to find a spelt bread recipe that was not dry and fragile. I always had trouble with it not rising and collapsing in the middle. THis recipe is fabulous! I did make some alterations-- 10 c. flour, 21/2 tsp. baking soda, 5 1/3 c. milk, 1/4 c. honey, 1 T. lecithin, 1 T. dough enhancer and 1/4 c. (one egg) of egg beaters. This made a very substantial loaf big enough to make sandwiches and had a wonderful texture. Definitely not a "woodsy" bread. I also used other grains along with the spelt...millet, quinoa, and flax. I grind them myself, and they were great in the bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've tried this recipe with xanthum gum and bicarbonate of soda as I couldn't find baking soda. The bread did not rise very much and was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very simple and very good is what this recipe should be called!! Pretty incredible results for the ease at which this bread gets made. Everything about this bread is nice; the texture, the taste, the way it rose and, did I mention how easy it was? Even my very picky 16 year old son loved it and ate three good slices right out of the oven! Thanks for a delicious, healthy and easy bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good and easy bread to make. I substituted honey and almond milk. It came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I mill all my own wheat and this bread was absolutely incredible!!!!!!!Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I wondered when I read everyone else's comments why they would all be reviewing it but with substitutions. But I'm glad they did. I can't use milk or sugar, so I substituted maple syrup and rice milk and the recipe still turned out great! Thanks, as I have given up wheat, dairy, sugar as well as other things and it is great to be able to have bread again! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
As far as spelt bread goes, this is the best one I’ve tried, as well. I substituted the molasses with ¼ cup of honey because I was out of the molasses, but found that 2 teaspoons of baking soda was perhaps a little much since you could really taste it in the final product. I think next time I’m going to use 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1 teaspoon of Xanthum Gum, which may help it to rise and from crumbling so much. I also substituted the 4-1/4 cups of milk with 4-1/4 cups of water. This is probably why it didn’t rise as much as it probably should have. I may also let the dough rise a bit next time and save part of the dough to make a starter dough for the next time I want to make it and see if the starter dough works in helping the dough rise in the next loaf I make after that one. I may also try using the molasses next time. I freeze my bread as I can’t consume 2 loaves of bread very quickly all by myself. It holds well in the freezer and then I microwave it for about a minute, tasting just as good as it did when it came out of the oven. It’s great with butter, and almond butter enhances its nutty taste even more! Due to its crumbliness, it was very difficult to cut, but it was very easy to make, and rose the most of all the spelt bread recipes I’ve tried, not coming out too dense. It was quite tasty too. This recipe is great for anyone that has wheat allergies and problems with Candida, as it does not contain any yeast whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fabiola V

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cassino, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States