Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very simple and very good is what this recipe should be called!! Pretty incredible results for the ease at which this bread gets made. Everything about this bread is nice; the texture, the taste, the way it rose and, did I mention how easy it was? Even my very picky 16 year old son loved it and ate three good slices right out of the oven! Thanks for a delicious, healthy and easy bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good and easy bread to make. I substituted honey and almond milk. It came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I mill all my own wheat and this bread was absolutely incredible!!!!!!!Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I wondered when I read everyone else's comments why they would all be reviewing it but with substitutions. But I'm glad they did. I can't use milk or sugar, so I substituted maple syrup and rice milk and the recipe still turned out great! Thanks, as I have given up wheat, dairy, sugar as well as other things and it is great to be able to have bread again! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
As far as spelt bread goes, this is the best one I’ve tried, as well. I substituted the molasses with ¼ cup of honey because I was out of the molasses, but found that 2 teaspoons of baking soda was perhaps a little much since you could really taste it in the final product. I think next time I’m going to use 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1 teaspoon of Xanthum Gum, which may help it to rise and from crumbling so much. I also substituted the 4-1/4 cups of milk with 4-1/4 cups of water. This is probably why it didn’t rise as much as it probably should have. I may also let the dough rise a bit next time and save part of the dough to make a starter dough for the next time I want to make it and see if the starter dough works in helping the dough rise in the next loaf I make after that one. I may also try using the molasses next time. I freeze my bread as I can’t consume 2 loaves of bread very quickly all by myself. It holds well in the freezer and then I microwave it for about a minute, tasting just as good as it did when it came out of the oven. It’s great with butter, and almond butter enhances its nutty taste even more! Due to its crumbliness, it was very difficult to cut, but it was very easy to make, and rose the most of all the spelt bread recipes I’ve tried, not coming out too dense. It was quite tasty too. This recipe is great for anyone that has wheat allergies and problems with Candida, as it does not contain any yeast whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fabiola V

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cassino, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
As far as spelt bread recipes go, this is by far the best I've tried. It is also very forgiving and easy to experiment with. I have tried this recipes with flax, sesame and sunflower seeds (in various combinations) and it has turned out well every time. Much like other reviewers, I add honey (about 1/8 cup) and 1 tsp of xantan gum when I have it. Another to die for combination my family enjoys is cinnamon raisin. 3/4 cups raisins (soaked in water for 15 minutes and drained) and cinnamon to taste (approx 2tsp for me)... when toasted with butter is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is just great bread, I no longer have to wonder what kind of bread to make or buy, this one is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Wow, this was super-easy to make and very flavorful. I used an 8 grain cereal instead of the seeds and added about 1/8 cup honey along with the molassas. Also some golden raisins. Probably can make this bread a variety of ways. Might try mashing 1/2 banana in the dough next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe IS truly simple & very user friendly. I dont normally bake bread, but due to my sons wheat allergy, I thought I'd try this spelt recipe. Now...not being totally equiped with all ingredients, I used alot of substitutes. ie: had no sesame seeds, so I used half poppy seeds and half crushed blanched almonds; had no molasses, so used part brown sugar and part maple syrup to make up the tbsp; had no cows milk so used a rice milk. Oh and I added a touch more b/soda. All I can say is this was one fantastic loaf of bread! It rose up beautifully and was soooo yummy. So I guess I played around with this recipe due to lack of exact ingredients, but must say I had alot of fun making the bread. Thanks so much Jean for sharing this great bread recipe! YYYYUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I lost the paddle to the inside of my bread making pan, so I am back to the old fashioned way...so I needed a quick recipe, NOW! This one is great! I substituted a mix of quinoa, flax and sunflower seeds for the sesame seed and 1/4 cup of honey instead of the molasses. I also used whole spelt flour since I have to grind my grains just before I use it. Very nutty! To remedy the fall apart nature of spelt bread, I always add about 1 tsp. xanthan gum or guar gum powder during the mixing. Delicious recipe and no yeast!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States