Very Simple Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I love this bread! But would like to clarify for all those saying they don't eat wheat or have an allergy to wheat, spelt IS WHEAT! It is more tolerated because it hasn't been as altered. If one has celiac's they cannot eat spelt. That being said, I love this bread and look forward to using some of the alterations others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I substituted with almond milk and I used fancy molasses. This worked out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Soooooo good. I only had 2.5 cups of spelt left so I made the difference with whole wheat flour (1.5 cups) to total the 4 cups needed for half the recipe or one loaf. I added about 3/4 cup raisins and 2 tsp. of cinnamon. Next time I'll add more cinnamon and more raisins. It is so easy to make and we all love it-even my 4 year old grand daughter. She said next time she'll toast it. The loaf came out perfectly crisp without putting a pan on top and it took only 60 minutes to bake. The last time I made it I didn't put any raisins or cinnamon in it and it's more bland but better for sandwiches that way. It also freezes well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Proudmuslima64
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is going to be a staple in our household. I made a half loaf in a small spring form and it turned out wonderful. So easy to mix. And it was the bomb the next day toasted for breakfast. And a night snack of a slice of bread with real butter and raw honey is better than any cake out there. Living in Germany we love hearty breads and this one is just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Bread from this recipe just came out of oven. I think we have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is the best bread I have tasted!!!! My goodness it is sooooo easy to make :) I make 3 loafs of white bread a week and it is an all day affair! Not this recipe!!!!!! I do not use store bought spelt I buy my spelt whole directly from the farm and grind it myself. It truly makes a big difference. I changed the recipe slightly I used a 1/2 cop of flaxseed and quinoa and omitted the sesame seeds. I used 1/4 cup of honey instead of the molasses. To give the bread more texture I made a slurry of 1 tbsp flaxseeds to 2 tbsp of boiling hot water then whisk to a slurry. It works!! http://glutenfreegirl.com/2011/02/chia-seeds-and-flaxseeds/ I use only glass bread pans so I heated the oven to 325 deg for 1 hr. The bread come put with a beautiful crust! I did not use a pan on top. This recipe is now a staple in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZebraDreaming
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe except that I made only one loaf in a 9x5 *glass* loaf pan. Since I was using glass I baked at 325 degrees for about an hour. Did not put a pan on top. Loaf came out soft, mellow, with minimal crumbing... and absolutely delicious. In fact, this is the best bread I've ever eaten. I'm thrilled that I can enjoy bread this good without wheat! My oven is not level so it lumped a bit to one side but did not effect the taste or texture (see pic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I really like the bread. Will add more salt next time. Was wondering if I could get it fluffier by using buttermilk or beer in place of regular milk. Made 1 loaf this time. Added more salt and about 1/4C of honey. Flavor is GREAT, but density is still a problem. Has anyone tried using Baking Powder in addition to the Soda? Wonder what happens if you add beaten eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sophieo
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Don't normally post reviews or photos but I am doing both for this recipe as I was pretty amazed by the bread that came out of my oven it was the highlight of my Sunday.....lets put it that way ......so great to finally have a recipe that is quick less than 10 mins to make with the variation I did and ready to eat within 2 hours. Free from wheat, oil and yeast and tastes really good with a lovely fluffy texture who needs yeast when you can have bread like this….. I used half white spelt and half brown, almond milk, shelled hemp seeds instead of sesame seeds and added half a grated courgette. I put the 2nd loaf tin on top from the start and the result was a 50-60% rise with a nice crusty top. A family staple for us from now on, will enjoy trying different variations and passing this recipe down to my children. After trying to make sourdough bread to avoid yeast and it taking a few days to start with loads of attention, this recipe wins hands down, and its great to be able to make your own bread simply and quickly and know exactly whats in it, unlike when you buy from a bakers, there are so few ingredients compared to shop bought bread, but you can't find any bread like this in a shop or bakers, don't know why as it's so easy to make. Thank you for sharing this simple but fantastic bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This really was easy and good tasting. Thanks for the recipe. Next time I will use a slightly smaller loaf pan so the slice will be taller since it didn't rise much. I made it again in the smaller pan with 2 teaspoons of baking powder added and it rose very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States