Very Popular Bubble Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
The general problem of US bubble tea is the pearls do not have the chewness we have in Taiwan. When I make it at home, I would cook the pearls then move the pearls into rice cooker and cook for another 15 minutes until the middle is completely cook. The pearls aren't fully cook if it still shows a little white dot in the middle. Once that's done. Run cold water through it 3 times. You'll have the most chewy pearls you'll ever taste. Definitely leave them in honey or syrup so they don't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Loved it! Can't get it around here and wanted to try it. Totally addicted to the feeling of the "bubbles"!! I had no trouble finding tapioca. It was in the baking section of my small-town grocery near the pudding. I used Splenda instead of the sugar and I also used Chai. I kept my left over bubbles and hope to use them again tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neffets72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This drink is just wierd. the tea was too sweet for me and the pearls were chewy. I used chai cause i thought that sounded yummy. I don't about this one. Just weird. All my friends love bubble tea, so i guess I'll have to try the stuff in the coffee shops. Fun to try. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I have tried this recipe several times. I found I had to cook my tapioca for much longer. Cook it until the tapioca is clear. Also after the ice is added the tea is a bit watered down. I used less ice the second time to keep the tea a little stronger. The flavor was good but just not strong enough for my taste. I might try it again with chai tea. I am sure that would be very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good recipe, i made a better bubble tea drink than i did last time without looking at a recipe XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Try this using spiced chai for a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Definitely cook the tapioca at least 35-40 minutes. I run a bubble tea shop in Corpus Christi, TX 7314 SPID, and we use Choobees because you don't have to cook them...much easier! No cooking required!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Thanks skybabay.I had one bubble tea & I was hooked.Unfortunately where I live it's totally unavailble.However anyone can get supplies over the internet now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe works fairly well. However, I would recommend cooking your tapioca pearls for longer... 30 minutes or more. After the said 20 minutes, just watch the pearls until they are cooked to your preference. Also, when storing your pearls, coat them with honey or sugar syrup so they do not stick together. If you want flavoured bubble tea, simply add frozen juice concentrate in the flavour of your choice. Keep adding it tsp at a time until it is flavourful enough. Chocolate syrup is also quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States