Very Popular Bubble Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I absolutely LOVE bubble tea, and I have been looking for the tapioca pearls, but couldn't find any. I still wanted to make some at home that tasted like what you get at stores, so I tried this recipe but without the tapioca. It seriously tasted just like something you could get at a store, only about 1/4 of the cost. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I buy my pearls at an oriental market in the bubble tea aisle, and cook them what the instructions say. They are black, large, and puff up in about 10 minutes, as the package says. This recipe is pretty good. I add fruit to it, and put it in the Vita mix, then pour it over the pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
So, I tried this just out of interest, and was the at first really unimpressed. I cooked the tapioca (I had dried pearls) for around 40 minutes, and they still had the white in them, which made them really too chewy in my opinion. I will attempt to cook it longer next time. I also took other reviewers' advice and coated the tapioca in honey before refrigeration. (Also cut down the sugar a large amount). So I tried it in black tea, and it was okay, but the tapioca was still too chewy and tasteless. I had some tapioca left over, which I stuck in the fridge overnight. I took it out the next evening, and tried it and WOW! It had gotten sweeter and more tender overnight. I had it in Rasberry tea (don't put the milk in Rasberry, mine curdled the first time, yuck), and it was delicious. For those of you with tougher "bubbles," try leaving them in honey in the fridge overnight-- not sure it's a real technique, but it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I altered the recipe a bit, but kept some of the original measurements. Also, don't forget to stir the tapioca pearls! I used 2 1/2 cups of black tea, 9 tsps of milk, 5 teaspoons of milk and 5 ice cubes. Also, I chilled the tapioca pearls in the fridge in a bit of cold water so they didn't clump as much. The tea was cooled for awhile before the milk & sugar were added as well. It came out absolutely amazing and made two large glasses of bubble tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
You cannot use American pearl tapioca for this recipe as it will fall apart and be nothing but a bunch of starch. You must use Pearl Tapioca that is made just for Bubble Tea. I recommend cooking the tapioca for 20 minutes and removing it from the heat source. Put a lid on the pot and allow to set for another 20 to 30 minutes. Rinse with warm water, it helps get the excess starch off much easier than cold water. I use Coconut Chai tea, Almond Milk and Stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I didnt know you had to stir the tapioca pearls...and therefore i burned my pot very badly :\ . I added banana and raspberries to the black tea blend and used a blender. it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerryDelicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have to agree with the previous reviewer, darthotto. The "bubbles" are just plain weird. They're like little tasteless rubber balls -- kinda like unflavored gummy bears. After about 2 of 'em, I felt like I was eating something that really wasn't meant to be eaten. If the bubbles were flavored, this would be quite enjoyable. As for the tea recipe, it's just plain tea with cream -- neither fantastic nor bad. If you're into it, which apparently, thousands of people are, you will want to simmer them for 30 minutes, as others have said. Also, my guess is that you could put them into any kind of of tea that you like. Enjoy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
As others have suggested, I cooked the tapioca for about 30 minutes. The thing was, I should have stirred more, because a layer of tapioca pearls got stuck to the bottom of the pot, and could easily have burned and ruined the taste. So stir, people!! Anyway, this works, it’s awesome for homemade bubble tea! I love the taste, I love the bubbles! Oh, one more thing! I only used like 3-4 ice cubes. That’s enough to chill the beverage to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Good attempt at it. Following the advice of the first review, these are my insights. - You will probably have to cook the tapioca longer than 20 minutes. I cooked for about ~30 minutes. Cook it until the tapioca is transparent. - I used the smaller tapioca pearls and it just wasn't the same as the larger ones. So I highly recommend using the larger ones. But if you do decide to use the smaller ones, 1/3 cup felt like overkill for me. 1/4 cup seems like a better portion. - The drink didn't seem sweet enough following the original 4 teaspoons. So you'll need to add maybe up to 6 teaspoons of white sugar, or you can add honey to add more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fong Chun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I was pretty excited to try this recipe but my tapioca pearls fell apart when I put them in the water, so I ended up with a pot of thick goop! Not sure what I did wrong...possibly not stirring them constantly. I also read that you should use tapioca pearls that are specifically made for bubble tea. So pay special attention to this step in the directions! I'm going to try it again soon, I'm sure it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States