Very Old Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I used to make this from an old cookbook years ago and lost the cookbook after several moves across the country. Really happy to find it here on Allrecipes. Thanks, Jason. It is, indeed, a wonderful meatloaf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuannD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I made your recipe last weekend and it was awesome. I'm not sure how fine the onions, carrots and apple were suppose to be but I shredded mine in my food processor so they were still quite visible in the meatloaf. It stayed together well and had a great taste. Thanks for your recipe and this will be my go-to one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dorchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Tried this and Grandma was on to something with the apple! Has a different spin than the same old meatloaf. I know some Gaydos'es..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Wow. I really wasn't expecting much from this recipe, but it was amazing! I've been looking for a low sugar meatloaf recipe (surprisingly hard to find) and now I have to look no further! Due to my husband's diet restrictions, I substituted turkey for beef and used gluten free bread crumbs. Next time I think I'll double the recipe for more leftovers. Oh and bonus- my 17 month old ate his entire serving. I could see a little bit of sage being a really good addition. Thank you Jason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is very similar to my grandma's meatloaf from about the early 1900's. I imagine it was made with kitchen staples at the time, so they had very little seasoning options. The difference in my recipe is that I make it with either bread crumbs or butter crackers, or a combo of them, salt, pepper, garlic & Worcestershire. Everything else is the same. Nothing fancy, basic comfort food from grandma. I've tried other recipes but always come back to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this meatloaf last night and it was a huge hit! Tonight I sliced up the leftovers and fried them in a bit of butter. Yum! The two minor changes I made was that I finely grated the onion, carrot and apple, so my kids wouldn't pick them out, and I used a pink lady apple instead of a granny smith (what I had on hand). Will definitely be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Even though Italian style bread crumbs were all I had, this recipe would benefit from the addition of some salt and pepper. It has a nice texture, and I like the nutritional benefit of using a carrot and an apple. Except for the crumbs, I followed the recipe and the method exactly. I think it would also benefit from some kind of topping, or sauce. Unfortunately, there aren't enough drippings to make a sauce, so I will have to wing it. I don't prepare meatloaf very often, so I will probably go back to the way my mom taught me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was surprised at how good this was. I especially loved the carrots and apple in the meatloaf. Next time I will chop the carrots a bit finer. So good! The reason I was surprised was because I always think of ketchup in or at least on a meatloaf, but wanted something without sugar. This definitely hit the spot! I did add a few shakes of salt and pepper to it, but am sure would be just fine without. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's become a meal we make often! I use Italian bread crumbs as well. What I've learned from the three times I've made this: use Italian bread crumbs for added flavor, I use 1/2 an onion (my household isn't a fan of onions), cut the apple and onion pieces to the same size, and watch your fingers as everyone digs in! I can't wait to try it with venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Someone said this is dry and bland. My meatloaf is similar, but I add 1/2 C. (not 3 T.) of liquid, such as broth or milk or tomato sauce -- whatever is on-hand. It gets absorbed nicely into the the 1 C. of bread crumbs. I also add 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 tsp. dried basil. I like to use very lean ground beef in meatloaf; otherwise, it's greasy and difficult to slice. That said, a nice touch is to lay 2 or 3 slices of bacon across the top while baking for 75 minutes, uncovered. The bacon gives it a wonderful flavor! I bake mine in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States