Very Old Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Perfection!!!! This recipe is wonderful. I will use this recipes always.this diabetic has found her go to meat dish 10 stars to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was wonderful! I thought the apples would be overwhelming, but I followed the recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised. I'm excited for my lunch break so I can eat some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was surprised at how good this was. I especially loved the carrots and apple in the meatloaf. Next time I will chop the carrots a bit finer. So good! The reason I was surprised was because I always think of ketchup in or at least on a meatloaf, but wanted something without sugar. This definitely hit the spot! I did add a few shakes of salt and pepper to it, but am sure would be just fine without. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's become a meal we make often! I use Italian bread crumbs as well. What I've learned from the three times I've made this: use Italian bread crumbs for added flavor, I use 1/2 an onion (my household isn't a fan of onions), cut the apple and onion pieces to the same size, and watch your fingers as everyone digs in! I can't wait to try it with venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good. I used ground Turkey because i thought that would compliment the apple and just added some salt and pepper to taste. A winner for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The secret is the added moisture. Also the breadcrumbs will soften the mixture. There are a lot of meat loaf recipes out there, so try them all and see which one is the best for your tastes. Generally I use beef pork and veal for meatloaf in equal amounts. It suits me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Someone said this is dry and bland. My meatloaf is similar, but I add 1/2 C. (not 3 T.) of liquid, such as broth or milk or tomato sauce -- whatever is on-hand. It gets absorbed nicely into the the 1 C. of bread crumbs. I also add 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 tsp. dried basil. I like to use very lean ground beef in meatloaf; otherwise, it's greasy and difficult to slice. That said, a nice touch is to lay 2 or 3 slices of bacon across the top while baking for 75 minutes, uncovered. The bacon gives it a wonderful flavor! I bake mine in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I added an egg and chopped the onion, carrot, and apple in my chopper, making them evenly disturbed into the meat it was awesome Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Larson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I haven't cooked it yet, but I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My family didn't care for meatloaf until I tried this recipe! The apple makes the difference! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States