Very Old Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Perfection!!!! This recipe is wonderful. I will use this recipes always.this diabetic has found her go to meat dish 10 stars to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was wonderful! I thought the apples would be overwhelming, but I followed the recipe exactly and was pleasantly surprised. I'm excited for my lunch break so I can eat some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I was surprised at how good this was. I especially loved the carrots and apple in the meatloaf. Next time I will chop the carrots a bit finer. So good! The reason I was surprised was because I always think of ketchup in or at least on a meatloaf, but wanted something without sugar. This definitely hit the spot! I did add a few shakes of salt and pepper to it, but am sure would be just fine without. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's become a meal we make often! I use Italian bread crumbs as well. What I've learned from the three times I've made this: use Italian bread crumbs for added flavor, I use 1/2 an onion (my household isn't a fan of onions), cut the apple and onion pieces to the same size, and watch your fingers as everyone digs in! I can't wait to try it with venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good. I used ground Turkey because i thought that would compliment the apple and just added some salt and pepper to taste. A winner for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The secret is the added moisture. Also the breadcrumbs will soften the mixture. There are a lot of meat loaf recipes out there, so try them all and see which one is the best for your tastes. Generally I use beef pork and veal for meatloaf in equal amounts. It suits me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Someone said this is dry and bland. My meatloaf is similar, but I add 1/2 C. (not 3 T.) of liquid, such as broth or milk or tomato sauce -- whatever is on-hand. It gets absorbed nicely into the the 1 C. of bread crumbs. I also add 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 tsp. dried basil. I like to use very lean ground beef in meatloaf; otherwise, it's greasy and difficult to slice. That said, a nice touch is to lay 2 or 3 slices of bacon across the top while baking for 75 minutes, uncovered. The bacon gives it a wonderful flavor! I bake mine in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I added an egg and chopped the onion, carrot, and apple in my chopper, making them evenly disturbed into the meat it was awesome Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Larson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I haven't cooked it yet, but I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My family didn't care for meatloaf until I tried this recipe! The apple makes the difference! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States