Very Easy Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I mix all the ingredients together with a dollop of sour cream. It becomes a pretty pink dip that is much easier to scoop. I use frozen (thawed) salad shrimp and serve it with wheat thins. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have had this dip before and loved it, but I didn't like it very much when I made it myself. Maybe it was the type of cocktail sauce I used? It was also difficult to dip my bagel crackers int it. They would break every time i tried to scoop up some of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I used frozen salad shrimp; it looked okay but no one touched it. It was a simple recipe but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Mix cream cheese with finely chopped onion and green pepper.....add layer of shrimp...pour on the chili sauce....sprinkle top with finely shredded mozzarella and finely chopped scallion greens.............serve with a small spread utensil because crackers will break if you try to scoop (until the cheese warms to room temp, anyway)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I feel bad to be the only one not thrilled with this recipe. I think for people that need quick and easy this is the way to go. However, if you want flavor I would suggest do not do this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A classic appetizer... I dislike canned meats/seafood so used fresh cooked shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is always a hit. I use an easier and more appealing presentation, though. I simply place the block of cream cheese on a serving plate, pour the drained and chilled shrimp over it, then the cocktail sauce. Serve with a small cheese spreader for spreading on crackers. Very elegant. And easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It really is very easy and it was loved by everyone which is even better. I doubled the recipe and made my own cocktail sauce. Ketchup, horseradish and lemon juice. You can add a little brown sugar if you don't like it too spicy. Just keep adding and tasting until you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I like to mix the cream cheese with some cocktail sauce first, then layer a little more sauce, then put the shrimp on the top and serve with crackers. Mixing the cream cheese with some cocktail sauce first makes it easier to dip the crackers into it. I always make this dip for parties and it is always gone! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Although thre taste is good, I made this for a buffet style party, but found that with the crackers, my guests were not getting to the cheese layer. So in the future I will either put the shrimp into the cream cheese or use a heartier cracker. I put a spoon in the dish, but noticed guests were using the crackers to scoop out the dip, thereby not getting to the cheesy layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States