Very Easy Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Love this recipe but only when the ingredients are mixed together to make a lovely, creamy pink dip. Most of the time I use fresh shrimp and coarsely chop them after poaching. I usually add a little prepared horseradish or a few drops of hot sauce and some fresh lemon juice. We enjoy it with Fritos or Bugles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
made this as an appetizer for thanksgiving. just delicious! I did add garlic and onion powder to the cheese with a good pinch of old bay and lemon juice. it is really yummy. next time im going to add crabmeat to the cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Yum..I use Frank's hot sauce mixed in cocktail sauce. Ads a kick. I will try some sour cream to spread cream cheese. Great idea thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Mixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I mix all the ingredients together with a dollop of sour cream. It becomes a pretty pink dip that is much easier to scoop. I use frozen (thawed) salad shrimp and serve it with wheat thins. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have had this dip before and loved it, but I didn't like it very much when I made it myself. Maybe it was the type of cocktail sauce I used? It was also difficult to dip my bagel crackers int it. They would break every time i tried to scoop up some of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I used frozen salad shrimp; it looked okay but no one touched it. It was a simple recipe but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Mix cream cheese with finely chopped onion and green pepper.....add layer of shrimp...pour on the chili sauce....sprinkle top with finely shredded mozzarella and finely chopped scallion greens.............serve with a small spread utensil because crackers will break if you try to scoop (until the cheese warms to room temp, anyway)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I feel bad to be the only one not thrilled with this recipe. I think for people that need quick and easy this is the way to go. However, if you want flavor I would suggest do not do this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A classic appetizer... I dislike canned meats/seafood so used fresh cooked shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is always a hit. I use an easier and more appealing presentation, though. I simply place the block of cream cheese on a serving plate, pour the drained and chilled shrimp over it, then the cocktail sauce. Serve with a small cheese spreader for spreading on crackers. Very elegant. And easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States