Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! Didn't change a thing. Enjoyed a bowl for lunch today at work. Great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent and easy soup! We added extra barley which then required more chicken broth. The pearl barley does the trick...no soaking and it was ready in the hour of simmering. We threw in some shredded rotisserie chicken to get it used up. I didnt' have any celery in the house so I substituted with celery salt and cut back on the regular salt. Will be a definite addition to my soup making rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
used 8 cups of broth. Very tasty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great soup! So easy - left out the celery and used only half a pound of mushrooms (all I had on hand), but thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Super easy and quick! I love mushroom and barley soups, and was looking for something I could whip up for lunch. I only made two changes to the recipe. 1) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make it vegetarian. 2) I added 2 bay leaves when I brought it to a boil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used ground beef and beef broth instead of the mushrooms and the chicken broth and came out really good, tanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very good. I was looking for a way to use some of the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving Day and this sounded really good. We used all of the celery on Thanksgiving day so I substituted 1 scant teaspoon of celery seed. Followed the recipe except that I chopped baby bellas into quarters or eighths, depending on the size, used 4 cups of chicken stock (all I had left) and 2 cups of water with chicken granules (very salty so don't add any salt if using these) and added leftover turkey. The fragrance was awesome and the dish was absolutely delicious. I may have some for breakfast! Thanks for the recipe sand1149!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT SOUP! Made just as written, except for adding in some extra garlic. I can't believe the wonderful flavors that came from this~YUM! It did take 1 hour for my barley to be fully cooked, but that was no big deal. this soup is definately going into my regular rotation! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was so easy to make and it turned out pretty well.I made a few additions that I think really helped boost the flavor: I added extra garlic, and onions, and some red wine as I was cooking the mushrooms. Oh, I also used beef broth instead of chicken. The wine really gave the soup great depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States