Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The recipe was easy to make and delicious. The only change I will make is to add more celery and carrots in the next batch. It also freezes and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I make this same soup, but with double the amount of garlic and 3 cups chicken and 3 cups beef broth (reduced fat/sodium). I also add 1 tsp each of dried thyme, marjoram, and parsley and 2 Tb. white cooking wine. It's still easy and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am tempted to make this a 5 star but I save that for way above average with changes it may be that. I halved oil I used 6 cups water and 2 Tbs. chicken better than boullion as I otherwise would always be out of stock. a lemon juice squeezed into soup and when ate I sprinkled n some salsa seasoning I did not buy enough mushrooms - my fault. Othersie I used amounts called for- Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
While I prefer things to have a bit more flavor (I did add some garlic salt, red/black pepper blend) my husband absolutely LOVED this - said it was his favorite thing I've ever made!! He likes simple flavors, healthy foods - not big on caseroles, foods that have to be slaved over. He went back for 2 more "small" bowls (he pointed out :) - and kept asking - "...and barley is good for you, right?" I buy fresh organic spinach in bulk, so threw that in the bottom of our bowls without even cooking it -the broth wilted the spinach on its own - great for adding more nutrients. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very easy and very good. I replaced 1/4 cup broth (I used veg) with sherry, and I added fresh thyme. A nice, hearty soup with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious! I used Trader Joe's vegetable broth (which is the only veggie broth I've found that tastes good, instead of being too carroty or tomatoey), as we are vegan for the Lenten Fast, and it was divine. I'm sure it is even better with chicken broth. I would make this any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Thanks for an easy, economical & very healthy recipe. We loved it. The only change I made was to sub the celery for an orange bell pepper (only because I had it & was out of celery). I was able to throw it together very quickly & everyone liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fantastic soup! Only thing I added was 2 bay leaves while simmering and about 3 tablespoons of red wine. A good chicken stock will make all the difference in flavor for this soup! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWIMYFISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a very easy soup to make and it had a wonderful flavor. Nice & hearty for a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A very nice soup. I used quick-cooking barley, so I only simmered it for about 30 minutes. It did need a little more flavor, so I added some dried parsley and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States