Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy recipe, but I changed a few things. I used pearled barley, 4 cups chicken broth, 2 cups beef broth, added a can of mixed veggies (i didnt have as many mushrooms to put in), and I added 2 bay leaves to the soup. Turned out great. Hoping it will freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have made this before with barley and it was OK, but caused some tummy problems, so tonight I made it with brown rice: no tummy problems and it was quite good. I doubled the garlic, used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and added a bit of lime juice at the table. Very nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very easy with nice mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This soup is DELICIOUS! It's also very low calorie, and the barley makes it ideal for those with cholesterol concerns. I used a little more garlic (always use more garlic!) and I included some shittake and cremini mushrooms along with the buttons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made recipe as stated, except that I reduced the amount of oil, as other reviewers suggested. Soup was fairly easy to make, but I felt that it badly needed some seasoning. Perhaps beef broth would be better to use for this recipe than chicken broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was really good but the leftovers were even better! Make a day ahead, you won't be disappointed! I added a bay leaf for flavour and next time will experiment a bit more. Rosemary? Garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made it without onions and added chives instead. Came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
YUM! This soup tastes really not that far off the turkey soup my Mum makes every year after Christmas with a whole heck of a lot less work! Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The amount of oil to sauté the veggies seemed high to me, so I reduced it by 75%, using only 1 tbsp which worked fine. This one small change really had to cut back on the fat grams in this soup making it much healthier. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter and found the soup very flavorful. After seasoning with salt and pepper, I did add a little thyme. Nice soup and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Kelly2
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I followed recipe very closely except I used the wonderful Roasted-vegetable stock on this site and a quick cooking barley. This is a great soup . I will freeze servings and let you know if it is not great each time I prepare one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States