Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed this. Simple but really good flavor. Easy to add your own stuff to it as well. Like one user suggested the pearled barley worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a couple cups of zucchini, 1/2 tsp. of dried oregano, and a couple tbsp. of fresh parsley. No-one noticed there was no meat in it.It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe minus the celery because I am allergic and found it to be very bland and not as thick as I like. Not sure if it was the lack of celery but very disappointing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DornyMom
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Ours turned out great! I added a full cup of barley and definitely soaked it over night, worked like a charm! I also added cooked chicken and used the crockpot instead to slow simmer all day. In the last 30 minutes, I mixed up some dumplings, plopped them on and tilted crockpot lid! Was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great, easy and tasty. I use shitake mushrooms and leeks instead of onions. I thin it a bit at the end with red wine. It becomes a gourmet company dish and I get raves. Thanks, Sandi149!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great soup and so easy! I used 10 minute barley, low sodium chicken broth. I make a similar version with beef, so I know it would be good with beef broth - See "beef barley vegetable soup" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was very easy and very filling. I used beef broth instead of the chicken and it did give the soup a heartier flavor! I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yummy recipe, but I changed a few things. I used pearled barley, 4 cups chicken broth, 2 cups beef broth, added a can of mixed veggies (i didnt have as many mushrooms to put in), and I added 2 bay leaves to the soup. Turned out great. Hoping it will freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have made this before with barley and it was OK, but caused some tummy problems, so tonight I made it with brown rice: no tummy problems and it was quite good. I doubled the garlic, used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and added a bit of lime juice at the table. Very nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very easy with nice mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States