Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I work in a Children Center were I cook for about 120 children each day. Ages 1 - 5 year olds and younger too. They loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This made a very nice soup and we enjoyed it, but I think for just 2 people, next time I will halve the recipe since it make more than six servings in my opinion and we did get tired of it after 2 meals (it really thickens up after being refrigerated!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
4 out of 5 people in my family loved this recipe, including a picky husband who didn't think he liked barley! I also didn't add the mushrooms (my personal preference). My son didn't care for the (drained) can of black beans I added, but everyone else really liked it. Will definitely print this recipe and make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed this. Simple but really good flavor. Easy to add your own stuff to it as well. Like one user suggested the pearled barley worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I added a couple cups of zucchini, 1/2 tsp. of dried oregano, and a couple tbsp. of fresh parsley. No-one noticed there was no meat in it.It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe minus the celery because I am allergic and found it to be very bland and not as thick as I like. Not sure if it was the lack of celery but very disappointing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DornyMom
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Ours turned out great! I added a full cup of barley and definitely soaked it over night, worked like a charm! I also added cooked chicken and used the crockpot instead to slow simmer all day. In the last 30 minutes, I mixed up some dumplings, plopped them on and tilted crockpot lid! Was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great, easy and tasty. I use shitake mushrooms and leeks instead of onions. I thin it a bit at the end with red wine. It becomes a gourmet company dish and I get raves. Thanks, Sandi149!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great soup and so easy! I used 10 minute barley, low sodium chicken broth. I make a similar version with beef, so I know it would be good with beef broth - See "beef barley vegetable soup" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was very easy and very filling. I used beef broth instead of the chicken and it did give the soup a heartier flavor! I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States