Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
What can I say, this soup is AMAZING! I followed some reviews hints. I made my own chicken stock - so easy! And along with throwing some chicken in there, I added a small can of button mushrooms, a handful of small egg noodles and some parsley for taste. It's great the first day.. but holy cow! The second day is better. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved the soup but agreed that it needed a little tweaking. 1) I reduced the oil to 1/8 cup. 2) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, 3) toasted the barley in the oven at 350 for 5-6 minutes. 4) added approx 1/2-1tsp dried oregano for added flavor. Delicious! Saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the first good soup I've ever made in my 57 years, so thank you for posting it! The only changes I made were I sautéed baby spinach with the onions and I slow simmered for 4 hours. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used low sodium vegetable stock and an assortment of mushrooms. The results were delicious. This soup was a great Saturday evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Easy to make but I desired more flavor. I used a full cup of diced carrots and added poultry seasoning to taste because I wasn't sure what seasoning(s) would go best with mushrooms and chicken broth. This is mushroom soup and it indeed did taste like mushrooms but I found it flat in flavor without the seasoning, DH enjoyed it which was great because I made it for him. I would like to make this again with vegetable stock which I think I'd prefer over chicken broth. All in all a good recipe but for me I need the flavor punched up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a great basic recipe, I also added some red wine for some extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was much quicker than other recipes I saw and didn't require dried mushrooms. I added about a tablespoon of dried dill weed and a couple of diced potatoes, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious, easy to cook, and my wife loved it so I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
WOW, this turned out so good that I had to review it even though I changed so many things. First I only had 8 oz of mushrooms (baby portabellas) so I doubled the celery and onion & added a small chopped sweet potato just to have enough veggies in there. Then, per other reviewers' suggestions I added a lot more garlic (3 tsp total) and 2 Tbsp of red wine into the broth. Also per another reviewer, I toasted the (pearl) barley for 5 min at 350 to give it more flavor. I also used Knorr vegetable bullion cubes to make my broth. Boy, is this soup ever good!!! A great vegetarian accompanyment for potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkin Pie Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Great, easy recipe. I used 3 cups chicken stock (less salt) and 3 cups beef stock to give it a deeper and more dimensional flavor. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States