Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awsome thank you..i recently had a heart attack at the age of 33 and my whole life has changed ..I am on a low sodium diet ...Boy is it hard to make food taste good,,,but with soups like this i think i can keep going thank you so very much-Steve Turner Atlanta NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this soup tonight!! Love it and it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used low sodium beef broth and added 1/2 pound of stew meet cut into small pieces. Other than that, everything else was prepared the same. Easy recipe and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
What can I say, this soup is AMAZING! I followed some reviews hints. I made my own chicken stock - so easy! And along with throwing some chicken in there, I added a small can of button mushrooms, a handful of small egg noodles and some parsley for taste. It's great the first day.. but holy cow! The second day is better. This is a keeper. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Loved the soup but agreed that it needed a little tweaking. 1) I reduced the oil to 1/8 cup. 2) I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, 3) toasted the barley in the oven at 350 for 5-6 minutes. 4) added approx 1/2-1tsp dried oregano for added flavor. Delicious! Saved to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the first good soup I've ever made in my 57 years, so thank you for posting it! The only changes I made were I sautéed baby spinach with the onions and I slow simmered for 4 hours. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used low sodium vegetable stock and an assortment of mushrooms. The results were delicious. This soup was a great Saturday evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Easy to make but I desired more flavor. I used a full cup of diced carrots and added poultry seasoning to taste because I wasn't sure what seasoning(s) would go best with mushrooms and chicken broth. This is mushroom soup and it indeed did taste like mushrooms but I found it flat in flavor without the seasoning, DH enjoyed it which was great because I made it for him. I would like to make this again with vegetable stock which I think I'd prefer over chicken broth. All in all a good recipe but for me I need the flavor punched up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is a great basic recipe, I also added some red wine for some extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States