Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this with 1 c. of barley because I like it thicker. I used beef broth because that is what I had on hand. Like one of the other reviewers suggested I added some red wine with the mushrooms. It was very easy to make. I really enjoyed the soup, my husband not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely delish ! The only thing I did differently was to brown a pound of lean ground beef along with the olive oil, onion, carrots, celery and garlic. I then continued the recipe from there. The addition of the ground beef made it a truly hardy meal. Served with come crusty french bread and yum !! My husband loved this soup and I will be making this again over the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good recipe and simple to make. I would reduce the olive oil by at least half next time I make it. I didn't even add salt, there was enough in the chicken broth. You don't need exact measurements either...more or lesss carrot, celery, etc. Next time I might add some spinach since I"ve seen many recipes with that ingredient included. It was excellent and I've served it to many people so far. They all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very easy and delicious.. Will make again. I did add parsley and thyme also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent. I used one cup of quick barley toasted briefly under the broiler and also added a bit of thyme to the soup. Utilizing the quick grain shortens simmering time considerably! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great soup! I added 2 c. sauteed chicken breast but would be wonderful without, too. Also added 2 c. chopped bok choy towards end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, had this last night, it was awesome. Made it the night before for the following nights dinner when I would be running late. Really didnt measure anything just chopped up the veggies, used two boxes of broth (think that may have been 8 cups) and a cup of barley (like it thick). As per another review chopped up some store bought roasted chicken and added it at the end. My barley was pearled (also read in the reviews) and I cooked for probably an hour and a half. The flavor was great, the soup had body and texture and was warm and filling on a cold winter night. Served with a small crusty french bread this was an easy and delicious meal. This will be a keeper in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great soup. I used 1 cup of barley and 4 cloves chopped garlic. The mushroom/chicken broth is delicious. You can cut some of the fat and calories by reducing the olive oil to about a teaspoon. A quarter cup seemed to be too much. One of my favorites from AR's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! Didn't change a thing. Enjoyed a bowl for lunch today at work. Great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States