Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good recipe and simple to make. I would reduce the olive oil by at least half next time I make it. I didn't even add salt, there was enough in the chicken broth. You don't need exact measurements either...more or lesss carrot, celery, etc. Next time I might add some spinach since I"ve seen many recipes with that ingredient included. It was excellent and I've served it to many people so far. They all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very easy and delicious.. Will make again. I did add parsley and thyme also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent. I used one cup of quick barley toasted briefly under the broiler and also added a bit of thyme to the soup. Utilizing the quick grain shortens simmering time considerably! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great soup! I added 2 c. sauteed chicken breast but would be wonderful without, too. Also added 2 c. chopped bok choy towards end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wow, had this last night, it was awesome. Made it the night before for the following nights dinner when I would be running late. Really didnt measure anything just chopped up the veggies, used two boxes of broth (think that may have been 8 cups) and a cup of barley (like it thick). As per another review chopped up some store bought roasted chicken and added it at the end. My barley was pearled (also read in the reviews) and I cooked for probably an hour and a half. The flavor was great, the soup had body and texture and was warm and filling on a cold winter night. Served with a small crusty french bread this was an easy and delicious meal. This will be a keeper in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great soup. I used 1 cup of barley and 4 cloves chopped garlic. The mushroom/chicken broth is delicious. You can cut some of the fat and calories by reducing the olive oil to about a teaspoon. A quarter cup seemed to be too much. One of my favorites from AR's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delish! Didn't change a thing. Enjoyed a bowl for lunch today at work. Great on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent and easy soup! We added extra barley which then required more chicken broth. The pearl barley does the trick...no soaking and it was ready in the hour of simmering. We threw in some shredded rotisserie chicken to get it used up. I didnt' have any celery in the house so I substituted with celery salt and cut back on the regular salt. Will be a definite addition to my soup making rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
used 8 cups of broth. Very tasty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States