Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
While I prefer things to have a bit more flavor (I did add some garlic salt, red/black pepper blend) my husband absolutely LOVED this - said it was his favorite thing I've ever made!! He likes simple flavors, healthy foods - not big on caseroles, foods that have to be slaved over. He went back for 2 more "small" bowls (he pointed out :) - and kept asking - "...and barley is good for you, right?" I buy fresh organic spinach in bulk, so threw that in the bottom of our bowls without even cooking it -the broth wilted the spinach on its own - great for adding more nutrients. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very easy and very good. I replaced 1/4 cup broth (I used veg) with sherry, and I added fresh thyme. A nice, hearty soup with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious! I used Trader Joe's vegetable broth (which is the only veggie broth I've found that tastes good, instead of being too carroty or tomatoey), as we are vegan for the Lenten Fast, and it was divine. I'm sure it is even better with chicken broth. I would make this any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Thanks for an easy, economical & very healthy recipe. We loved it. The only change I made was to sub the celery for an orange bell pepper (only because I had it & was out of celery). I was able to throw it together very quickly & everyone liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Fantastic soup! Only thing I added was 2 bay leaves while simmering and about 3 tablespoons of red wine. A good chicken stock will make all the difference in flavor for this soup! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWIMYFISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a very easy soup to make and it had a wonderful flavor. Nice & hearty for a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A very nice soup. I used quick-cooking barley, so I only simmered it for about 30 minutes. It did need a little more flavor, so I added some dried parsley and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I really liked this soup. I used baby portabello mushrooms & next time I will cut them a little smaller. It's not a hugely flavorful soup but it was good with some fresh bakery bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have just became a no oil vegan over the past month. I am not much of a cook and am better at baking than cooking! I tried this a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it! I am making it again tonight! So easy. So simple! I really love mushrooms, so tonight I put in more mushrooms, and realize last time that I cooked the barley separate, and should have cooked it in the broth - Duh! I can't wait to have this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This soup is simply amazing! So easy to make, and so delicious. I agree with the other reviewers: you must soak your barley before hand. about 8 hours. Or else it will take forever to cook through. The only other changes was that I used beef broth, and a cup of barley. SO AMAZING!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States