Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made the recipe as stated and it was very good and easy! I may reduce the oil next time and try toasting the barley as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this recipe as written... wonderful! Then I made it with smoked turkey stock and added fresh thyme! I could sell this on a street corner for $$$. It had to be the best Mushroom Barley soup I have ever tasted!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good and healthy, especially if you use low sodium, fat free chicken broth! I added rosemary and it made a huge difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great soup! I added 3 tbsp of porchini mushroom powder for more flavor and a full cup of farro as I did not have any barley. Delicious, warming and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I modified to make 8 servings instead of six and for salt added teaspoon - which oversalted. As another reviewer noted (I read it too late) there's salt in chicken broth cubes I used for stock. Also agree, with another reviewer - next time will put in more carrots and touch of chicken meat if possible. And yes, I soaked barley while chopping. It took close to 2-2.5 hrs total at leisurely pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good. It's filling and still very healthy. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The recipe was easy to make and delicious. The only change I will make is to add more celery and carrots in the next batch. It also freezes and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I make this same soup, but with double the amount of garlic and 3 cups chicken and 3 cups beef broth (reduced fat/sodium). I also add 1 tsp each of dried thyme, marjoram, and parsley and 2 Tb. white cooking wine. It's still easy and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am tempted to make this a 5 star but I save that for way above average with changes it may be that. I halved oil I used 6 cups water and 2 Tbs. chicken better than boullion as I otherwise would always be out of stock. a lemon juice squeezed into soup and when ate I sprinkled n some salsa seasoning I did not buy enough mushrooms - my fault. Othersie I used amounts called for- Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States