Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this recipe as written... wonderful! Then I made it with smoked turkey stock and added fresh thyme! I could sell this on a street corner for $$$. It had to be the best Mushroom Barley soup I have ever tasted!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good and healthy, especially if you use low sodium, fat free chicken broth! I added rosemary and it made a huge difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great soup! I added 3 tbsp of porchini mushroom powder for more flavor and a full cup of farro as I did not have any barley. Delicious, warming and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I modified to make 8 servings instead of six and for salt added teaspoon - which oversalted. As another reviewer noted (I read it too late) there's salt in chicken broth cubes I used for stock. Also agree, with another reviewer - next time will put in more carrots and touch of chicken meat if possible. And yes, I soaked barley while chopping. It took close to 2-2.5 hrs total at leisurely pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good. It's filling and still very healthy. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The recipe was easy to make and delicious. The only change I will make is to add more celery and carrots in the next batch. It also freezes and reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I make this same soup, but with double the amount of garlic and 3 cups chicken and 3 cups beef broth (reduced fat/sodium). I also add 1 tsp each of dried thyme, marjoram, and parsley and 2 Tb. white cooking wine. It's still easy and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am tempted to make this a 5 star but I save that for way above average with changes it may be that. I halved oil I used 6 cups water and 2 Tbs. chicken better than boullion as I otherwise would always be out of stock. a lemon juice squeezed into soup and when ate I sprinkled n some salsa seasoning I did not buy enough mushrooms - my fault. Othersie I used amounts called for- Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
While I prefer things to have a bit more flavor (I did add some garlic salt, red/black pepper blend) my husband absolutely LOVED this - said it was his favorite thing I've ever made!! He likes simple flavors, healthy foods - not big on caseroles, foods that have to be slaved over. He went back for 2 more "small" bowls (he pointed out :) - and kept asking - "...and barley is good for you, right?" I buy fresh organic spinach in bulk, so threw that in the bottom of our bowls without even cooking it -the broth wilted the spinach on its own - great for adding more nutrients. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very easy and very good. I replaced 1/4 cup broth (I used veg) with sherry, and I added fresh thyme. A nice, hearty soup with lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States