Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked this. Reason I gave only 3 stars is cos compared to other soups I make, i can only eat a little bit of it. Just can't eat that many mushrooms! Soup itself is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I followed the recipe first and found it to be somewhat bland. Pretty much just chicken broth or chicken soup flavor. I tried doctoring it up but quickly learned it tasted best before tinkering. Just a tip, if you think the soup is decent upon first try, you may want to leave it as is. This soup was okay, but I won't be making it recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is the easiest recipe to make and it's a perfect combination of veggies and barley. Just like mum used to make! I added ~ 4 cups additional broth because I like my soups with more liquid and it was perfect! Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup was suprisingly delicious. I used a combination of baby portabella and white button mushrooms. I couldn't beleive how easy the recipie was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I fixed this recipe according to the recipe and then tweaked it a little when it was almost done. First, if you like veggies, add more carrots, celery and onion. Next time i will triple or double it. I added more garlic too. When i tasted it the first time, it was a little flat so i added about 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and 3 drops of Tabasco. If you really love mushrooms, you could totally add more. I used baby portabellos which were really nice. Overall, this is a good recipe. I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very nice! Here is idea you might also try. Put the barley on a sheet pan and toast lightly in oven at 350 degrees for about 5 mins or longer depending on your oven. It really brings the barley flavor out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Thank you, this is remarkable, and all in one pot! Made this today on a true winter's day - snow flying everywhere . . . the family wolfed it down (added bonus: the house smells amazing!) Unfortunately, there are no leftovers, so next time I'll double the recipe. I added some fresh dill the last 20 minutes, and also threw in some leftover meatloaf (chopped into bite-sized pieces). This is definitely a keeper! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
The flavor of this soup was really good. However, in the future I will follow the instructions on the barley bag and pre-soak it. After simmering the soup for 1 hour, I found the barley wasn't cooked enough. I continued to simmer for another 30 minutes and the barley was fine, but some of the stock had boiled down at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I am always looking for simple and tasty soups to have in winter. This fits the bill. I used various shrooms and extra carrot, onion & celery to finish them up. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Just like my mom and grandma make it! This is honestly one of my comfort staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States