Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. My husband loved it and so did my 2 year old! I followed the recipe exactly and we will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I was surprised at how good this came out! Actually better than any other mushroom/barley soup I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup is very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just great! SO very easy - it actually lives up to its name! We like ours a bit thicker than this has come out at the end of cooking, but I plan on cooking a little longer w/the lid off (we live in CO - it's all about evaporation!) to get it to thicken a bit. Otherwise, might toss a bit in a blender and add it back in to thicken it up that way. **MAKE SURE YOU ARE USING PEARLED BARLEY OR SOAK YOURS ACCORDING TO PACKAGE DIRECTIONS if it's not - barley that is not pearled will take forever to cook otherwise (it looks like this got left out of the ingredient info).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe but used 8C chicken broth like other reveiwers suggested and it is soooo good! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treesnrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked this. Reason I gave only 3 stars is cos compared to other soups I make, i can only eat a little bit of it. Just can't eat that many mushrooms! Soup itself is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I followed the recipe first and found it to be somewhat bland. Pretty much just chicken broth or chicken soup flavor. I tried doctoring it up but quickly learned it tasted best before tinkering. Just a tip, if you think the soup is decent upon first try, you may want to leave it as is. This soup was okay, but I won't be making it recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is the easiest recipe to make and it's a perfect combination of veggies and barley. Just like mum used to make! I added ~ 4 cups additional broth because I like my soups with more liquid and it was perfect! Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup was suprisingly delicious. I used a combination of baby portabella and white button mushrooms. I couldn't beleive how easy the recipie was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I fixed this recipe according to the recipe and then tweaked it a little when it was almost done. First, if you like veggies, add more carrots, celery and onion. Next time i will triple or double it. I added more garlic too. When i tasted it the first time, it was a little flat so i added about 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, and 3 drops of Tabasco. If you really love mushrooms, you could totally add more. I used baby portabellos which were really nice. Overall, this is a good recipe. I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States