Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good but I added fresh dill parsley and thyme it took the recipe to a higher level. I also blended 3/4 of my vegetables after they simmered and before I added the barley for a thick consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this and added about 3 cups chopped fresh spinach and 1 T Thyme. everyone thought it was fantastic. I also cut the olive oil down to about 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this recipe with vegetable boullion rather than chicken broth and served it with a fresh, crusty demi baguette to sop up the delicious flavors and even my boyfriend (who is very picky about food, particularly "health food") LOVED it. It was a bit time consuming having to wait for the barley to reach optimal tenderness, but well worth the wait. Filling, delicious -- best soup I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. My husband loved it and so did my 2 year old! I followed the recipe exactly and we will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I was surprised at how good this came out! Actually better than any other mushroom/barley soup I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup is very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just great! SO very easy - it actually lives up to its name! We like ours a bit thicker than this has come out at the end of cooking, but I plan on cooking a little longer w/the lid off (we live in CO - it's all about evaporation!) to get it to thicken a bit. Otherwise, might toss a bit in a blender and add it back in to thicken it up that way. **MAKE SURE YOU ARE USING PEARLED BARLEY OR SOAK YOURS ACCORDING TO PACKAGE DIRECTIONS if it's not - barley that is not pearled will take forever to cook otherwise (it looks like this got left out of the ingredient info).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe but used 8C chicken broth like other reveiwers suggested and it is soooo good! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treesnrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked this. Reason I gave only 3 stars is cos compared to other soups I make, i can only eat a little bit of it. Just can't eat that many mushrooms! Soup itself is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I followed the recipe first and found it to be somewhat bland. Pretty much just chicken broth or chicken soup flavor. I tried doctoring it up but quickly learned it tasted best before tinkering. Just a tip, if you think the soup is decent upon first try, you may want to leave it as is. This soup was okay, but I won't be making it recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States