Very Easy Mushroom Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This soup was really easy, but needed more flavor in my opinion. I added crushed bay leaves and oregano and still felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good but I added fresh dill parsley and thyme it took the recipe to a higher level. I also blended 3/4 of my vegetables after they simmered and before I added the barley for a thick consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this and added about 3 cups chopped fresh spinach and 1 T Thyme. everyone thought it was fantastic. I also cut the olive oil down to about 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this recipe with vegetable boullion rather than chicken broth and served it with a fresh, crusty demi baguette to sop up the delicious flavors and even my boyfriend (who is very picky about food, particularly "health food") LOVED it. It was a bit time consuming having to wait for the barley to reach optimal tenderness, but well worth the wait. Filling, delicious -- best soup I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Fantastic recipe. My husband loved it and so did my 2 year old! I followed the recipe exactly and we will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I was surprised at how good this came out! Actually better than any other mushroom/barley soup I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This soup is very easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just great! SO very easy - it actually lives up to its name! We like ours a bit thicker than this has come out at the end of cooking, but I plan on cooking a little longer w/the lid off (we live in CO - it's all about evaporation!) to get it to thicken a bit. Otherwise, might toss a bit in a blender and add it back in to thicken it up that way. **MAKE SURE YOU ARE USING PEARLED BARLEY OR SOAK YOURS ACCORDING TO PACKAGE DIRECTIONS if it's not - barley that is not pearled will take forever to cook otherwise (it looks like this got left out of the ingredient info).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Followed the recipe but used 8C chicken broth like other reveiwers suggested and it is soooo good! Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treesnrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked this. Reason I gave only 3 stars is cos compared to other soups I make, i can only eat a little bit of it. Just can't eat that many mushrooms! Soup itself is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States