Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
it tasted good, but like others it never became ice cream. We gave up and just had milkshakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
A-MA-ZING.. i've done that recipe twice and it's SOOO good, just make sure that you leave the chocolate mixture in the fridge for the whole night and it will freeze easily...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alain Desroches

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Where is the 10 star box! I now use this as a base for all my ice cream. I did start out making the chocolate, then I made it without the chocolate ingredients. And I also made STRAWBERRY and OREO COOKIE ice cream! I think the strawberry turned out the best, next to the plain vanilla. I used frozen strawberries; thru them in a bowl to thaw with 1/4 cup sugar; cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup to the milk. Once the strawberries were thawed, I put them in my "bullet" to puree before adding to the cream mixture. I will never be buying store bought ice cream again. And yes, take your time making the custard - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy Pants
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
best ice cream recipe I've found yet. sometimes I will freeze some peanut butter and put pieces in there too and it tastes out of this world!!! you gotta try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Pants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This Chocolate Ice Cream was fantastic! We just got a new Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker for Christmas and having NEVER made home-made ice cream before, I am trying out recipes. I did add 3 oz. of chopped chocolate but that was the only addition/change. I strongly recommend that you pour the mixture through a sieve as it is poured into the chilled bowl in step one. I am not new to tempering eggs, but after pouring the mixture through the sieve, I found tiny thread-like pieces of cooked eggs in the mixture, and those could have harmed the texture of the finished ice cream. All in all an A+ !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My family really enjoyed the recipe. It was nice and creamy and we used a hand crank to make it perfect. I mixed different types of chocolate to help it. Most was very good German Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
While this is very nice, it certainly isn't "Very Chocolate." I think I'll try it again, with substantially more cocoa and boil it in a little coffee before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe Hatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Ohhhhhhh so delicious, the rich chocolate flavor definitely came through and it had the perfect texture. This recipe definitley smashed it out of the ballpark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
O. M. G. This is amazing! I made it twice. The first time I used Hersheys special dark cocoa and ghiardelli dark chocolate. It was delicious. The second time I followed the directions exactly, except I used ghiardelli sweet ground instead of unsweetened cocoa, and it was also amazing. After I took it out of the ice cream maker, I drizzled melted chocolate (semi sweet, but you can use any) slowly into the ice cream while whisking it. It hardens like the chocolate does in stracciatella gelato and I really can't stress how good it tastes. Little bits of thin flaky chocolate. Yuuum. You would never know this ice cream is homemade. Not sure why people had trouble with it hardening. I didn't have issues either time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skater734

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States