Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow, this ice cream is the best chocolate ice cream I've ever made. Will continue making it this way from now on. We also had the problem with the chunks- I think some of my eggs did curdle as hard as I tried to not let it happen. Simple solution was to use a colander and strain them out, and viola! Delicious, velvety, chocolate ice cream. Next time, I'll be doubling it because it didn't last long....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing! The only change I made was to increase the cocoa to 1/3 cup because I didn't have any semisweet chocolate to melt into it. (It was really nice to be able to skip that step, too.) The flavor was fantastic and the ice cream ended up firm, smooth, creamy and rich. I've made a lot of homemade ice cream lately, but this was my first time trying a custard style. I will definitely be trying this type for other flavors and will be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Dark chocolate cocoa, skim milk, light cream, chocolate chips, 3 T. egg substitute. Also awesome if you add peanut butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVORYCASSIOPEIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was my first ice cream recipe ever. I only had 1 ounce chocolate square, so I used a little extra cocoa powder. Everything else was the exact same. My family and I all LOVED this recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Absolutely the best ice cream I have ever tasted!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy Keen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Amazing recipe texture wise once this recipe is tweaked a little I add extra cocoa powder I use condensed milk to replace the milk and use chocolate chips in place of the brick chocolate... It takes a long time to set but good things come to those who wait.... I let mine sit over night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is definetely one of the best chocolate ice creams i've ever had. It so rich, and chocolatey! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
We loved this ice-cream! I didn't have any problems getting it to freeze. After adding the egg and heating again, I removed the milk/egg mixture from the heat and stirred in chocolate chips. Once they were melted, I stirred in the cream. The cold cream, cooled the mixture quickly and after about a half hour in the freezer, it was ready for my ice-cream freezer.It's smooth and rich and perfectly chocolatey. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
AMAZING! No problem freezing. I followed directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggyway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Oh. My. Gosh. This has to be one of the best things I have ever tasted. So perfectly creamy and smooth and chocolaty. Heaven help me. I cooked the milk mixture with the egg yolks to 180 degrees, removed from heat, and dumped in the finely chopped Bakers Semi-Sweet chocolate and let it sit a few minutes, then stirred until melted completely. Refrigerated it overnight. Added the cream and vanilla just before freezing in my ice-cream maker. Absolute perfection. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States