Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Standard chocolate custard ice cream. Altering the sugar and/or chocolate type or amount changes flavor if you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is the best chocolate ice cream recipe I've found. I love that the egg yolks do NOT remain raw, like in other recipes I've found. I've read some of the reviews that say it will not freeze, while it doesn't become rock-hard after a day in the freezer, it does harden. Unless you're taking it on a road trip in the sun, I can't imagine why anyone would need it completely solid. The end result is a littler firmer than soft-serve, which is perfect for my family. As chocoholics and ice cream lovers, we make a double recipe almost every weekend, since I found it, without changing a thing. I follow the directions exactly, and I am continually amazed how good it is. This ice cream would rival any specialty ice cream. I fall in love with it each time I have a bowl (or two). Thank you, WENDYWR, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great ice-cream! We can't have sugar so I substituted 1/2cup splenda and used sugar free chocolate chips. Even our friends how can have sugar seemed to enjoy my variation. I made it in my kitchenaid ice-cream maker. Loving it. Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Yes Yes Yes! This was awesome. Need to double or quadruple the recipe, however, because it didn't make much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Absolutely fantastic.... If you're not on a diet! So creamy and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I agree with all the positive reviews- this is excellent when followed to the etter! Extremely rich and custardy. However...I also agree with the sentiment that it isn't very chocolatey. Its very *good* but a more modest, milk-chocolate flavor as opposed to like a rich chocolate. I had no issues with freezing but I tempered the eggs- I streamed the chocolate in and whisked with a fork while streaming in- and I chilled for a few hours before freezing. Also, my cuisinart kind of sucks at scraping the ice cream away from the sides so I had to help it out using a knife. I did have issues with a bit of graininess/chewiness that seemed like chocolate bits. It was actually yummy but next time I will grate the semisweet chocolate as opposed to just chopping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Made this ice cream recipe the other day. It turned out pretty good. The texture was thick and I had no problem with it freezing. The chocolate tasted fantastic. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fabulous! This was my first time making ice cream ever in my life, and it came out wonderful. After reading some of the reviews I added an additional ounce of dark chocolate, and poured the chocolate mixture through a strainer before chilling it...was glad that I did, because I could see where I strained out some little bits of egg that I had not properly tempered...other than that, followed the recipe exactly and it was SO good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made this a couple of weeks ago and loved it! I will be making it again, however I would double the recipe. Didn't make as much as other recipes, but it was way better. No issues with freezing like other reviewers had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Love this recipe. The texture is rich, creamy and decedant it also adapts well to other flavors. I have made chocolate, spiced ginger peach, mint chip, strawberry and coffee flavor with this base recipe and I haven't had a hitch yet. Although I will say the two crucial steps are tempering the eggs and letting the milk mixture completely chill. Another step I add is straining the milk/egg before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States