Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made it exactly as specified and everyone raved about how delicious it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Superb! I've made this at least 5 times now, a favorite. I'd recommend melting only 1 oz of the chocolate and finely chopping the other ounce for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good recipe. Simple and easy to make. I substituted 1% milk for the whole milk and half and half for the heavy whipping cream. I did this mostly because I don't like the greasy mouth feel that heavy cream leaves when heavy cream is used. I also used 4 egg yolks instead of 3 and 2.5 ounces of Nestles Tollhouse semi sweet chocolate chips. Ill be making this recipe again, but next time Ill strain the mixture before melting the chocolate chips in to rid of any tiny clumps. Great recipe, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Standard chocolate custard ice cream. Altering the sugar and/or chocolate type or amount changes flavor if you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is the best chocolate ice cream recipe I've found. I love that the egg yolks do NOT remain raw, like in other recipes I've found. I've read some of the reviews that say it will not freeze, while it doesn't become rock-hard after a day in the freezer, it does harden. Unless you're taking it on a road trip in the sun, I can't imagine why anyone would need it completely solid. The end result is a littler firmer than soft-serve, which is perfect for my family. As chocoholics and ice cream lovers, we make a double recipe almost every weekend, since I found it, without changing a thing. I follow the directions exactly, and I am continually amazed how good it is. This ice cream would rival any specialty ice cream. I fall in love with it each time I have a bowl (or two). Thank you, WENDYWR, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great ice-cream! We can't have sugar so I substituted 1/2cup splenda and used sugar free chocolate chips. Even our friends how can have sugar seemed to enjoy my variation. I made it in my kitchenaid ice-cream maker. Loving it. Go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Yes Yes Yes! This was awesome. Need to double or quadruple the recipe, however, because it didn't make much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Absolutely fantastic.... If you're not on a diet! So creamy and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I agree with all the positive reviews- this is excellent when followed to the etter! Extremely rich and custardy. However...I also agree with the sentiment that it isn't very chocolatey. Its very *good* but a more modest, milk-chocolate flavor as opposed to like a rich chocolate. I had no issues with freezing but I tempered the eggs- I streamed the chocolate in and whisked with a fork while streaming in- and I chilled for a few hours before freezing. Also, my cuisinart kind of sucks at scraping the ice cream away from the sides so I had to help it out using a knife. I did have issues with a bit of graininess/chewiness that seemed like chocolate bits. It was actually yummy but next time I will grate the semisweet chocolate as opposed to just chopping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Made this ice cream recipe the other day. It turned out pretty good. The texture was thick and I had no problem with it freezing. The chocolate tasted fantastic. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States