Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fabulous and perfect. I've made it twice now. Once, with dark chocolate flecks added before freezing. Second time, it was a base for Rocky Road. It's the perfect chocolate custard style ice cream. It took about 35-40 minutes to freeze in my ice cream maker. It then went into the freezer over night. Smooth, creamy, scoopable, and a premium taste. Just follow the directions and you'll enjoy it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi De

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was the best chocolate ice cream I've ever had. I used a dark chocolate cocoa powder which might have something to do with it since I LOVE dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I also tried this using 1% milk, instead of whole, and half 'n half for the heavy cream. Everyone at the cookout couldn't believe it was light ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This ice cream is so good. I used 2 oz of 60% to 80% cocoa this was what I had and 1 TBS instant coffee granules. It made a chocolatey creamy delish ice cream. I am trying this today as a vanilla version no cocoa powder or chocolate with 1 vanilla bean simmered in the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Awesome creamy ice cream. This turned out prefect despite me using only two eggs because I didn't have three and not tempering the eggs, the step the directions called for. I used a small handful of Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips and 1 ounce of 99% cacao. I just had to improvise a bit with that I had on hand this time. I will make this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great flavor, but really important to follow the directions precisely to avoid botching
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesplux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was the first ice cream we made in our new ice cream maker, and it was like eating heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I just made this and it is GREAT! I changed it up to be healthier and will share for those who are curious...as I always am;) I used NutraSweet (no sugar) 1/2 & 1/2 (no milk or cream) and intense dark chocolate instead of semisweet. Super super chocolatey and creamy as well. I don't know how it would be, as far as consistency, if frozen for a long period of time, as it will not last that long, but it seems like it would freeze too solid, probably because of the 1/2 & 1/2...so if you are to try this I would try adding the bit of alcohol at the end to keep it scoopable. Hope this helps someone:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very good! I'm not a huge chocolate ice cream fan, but the richness is great. For those concerned about scrambled eggs, I would recommend straining the mixture after it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbuie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lytle, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Although I shared some of the problems other reviewers had (small bits of cooked egg and unmelted chocolate), this is an amazing recipe! Not VERY chocolate as the name says, but incredibly rich and creamy. I'll just learn from my mistakes (thanks to corrections from other reviewers!) and add more chocolate. No reason to try other recipes...even with some problems this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States