Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is the first recipe I've tried with my new ice cream maker and it turned out delicious!!!!! It was soft-serve consistency after churning for 25 minutes and after 3 hours in the freezer, it is the consistency of store bought. Wow. That's all I can say, is WOW. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I cooled the first part down in an ice bath before cooling in the fridge. I will make this again and again...oh, and I used a chopped up Hershey bar since I had no fine chocolate...didn't think chocolate chips would do. Okay, okay, one more thing- I also poured it through a strainer after heating and I'm glad I did because I was able to capture some egg-type chunks. Thanks for a great go-to recipe! The kids and hubby loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was VERY good. I used Dutch process cocoa and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Some of the chocolate pieces must not have melted fully because we ended up with a few solid pieces in the ice cream. We liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I halved the recipe and made it in two batches in my tiny half-pint ice cream maker. I used half as much sugar as called for. This is the first homemade ice cream recipe I've made and it's amazing-- lucious-tasting and incredibly smooth. I'm making it for the third time right now, and will make it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
OK, I made this twice. The first was to try it as is. That was very good, but not enough chocolate for me. It was the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. Don't forget to run the liquid through a fine strainer to get any egg solids out before you give it a final chill before going into the machine. In all cases, leave it in the machine until the machine starts to beg to shut it down. YOU MUST HAVE A COLD FREEZER. This is the number one error for all the people who said that they could not get their ice cream to get past the liquid stage. My final, and best chocolate ice cream was made with 4 egg yolks, and 3.17 oz of Ghirardelli 86% Cacao Intense Dark Midnight Reverie chocolate. I also used two tablespoons of Hershey dark syrup, and a little extra cream. The ice cream is heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I used only 1 oz. of semisweet chocolate and added an ounce of unsweetened chocolate (I used the Choco-bake product that's premelted). I still thought the ice cream was too sweet. Next time, I'll omit the semisweet chocolate and use 2 oz. of unsweetened. The texture of the finished product was fantastic. I used an electric ice cream maker, which never produces a particularly solid ice cream, but I love the "soft serve" texture. Not sure how it makes 8 servings. Four of us finished it off in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is the best ice cream I have ever made. The flavor is rich and delicious and the texture is smooth and dreamy. I doubled the recipe and used whole milk. I also poured the mixture through a strainer to get rid of any chocolate chunks and egg yolk bits that didn't dissolve. It really helps with the texture. With the recipe doubled, it made about 2 quarts, plenty for my family. My dad tasted the base before freezing it and he said it was so good, he would've eaten that! Thank you so much for this recipe. Will be keeping it forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is only the second time I've made ice cream. Not bad, but maybe better if I stirred more? Could use a little more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Fantastic. I have always made vanilla but this was a great change. It came out so smooth. I also used Pensky's cocco and wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Jewett
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was my first time making ice cream. I borrowed my neighbors ice cream maker and I will say that this tasted wonderful. Mine ended up more like soft serve but thats probably due to my lack of experience. I topped it off with sprinkles and 'Chocolate Syrup' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fabulous and perfect. I've made it twice now. Once, with dark chocolate flecks added before freezing. Second time, it was a base for Rocky Road. It's the perfect chocolate custard style ice cream. It took about 35-40 minutes to freeze in my ice cream maker. It then went into the freezer over night. Smooth, creamy, scoopable, and a premium taste. Just follow the directions and you'll enjoy it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi De

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States