Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was tasty. A little too labor intensive for my liking. Especially when I get a better tasting chocolate ice cream by mixing 3 tbsp of cocoa in with a basic vanilla recipe, no eggs, no stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
i made this today for my co-workers and i to have since mondays are slow and i added mini chocolate chips and toffe bar bits and it turned out awesome! it smelled mouthwatering when i was cooking the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
First chocolate made. Pretty good. Not super chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Bergen Hudson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I used 2 cups of 2% milk and 1 cup of whipping cream, because that's what I had at the house. The chopped up chocolate left specks of in the ice cream, which I don't mind at all - tastes like bits of brownies to me. My boyfriend doesn't like the texture (although he loves the taste) so next time I'll try melting it in a double boiler first. Oh and don't worry if you don't have any fancy chocolate - I used plain old Baker's and Nestle cocoa powder and I still really love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!! Absolutely DIVINE ice cream. I quadrupled it because we have a large ice cream machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe was perfect. I wanted homemade ice cream for my daughter's birthday party and we picked this recipe because the eggs were cooked. I followed the recipe exactly. I figured on two hours freezing time and was shocked when it was finished in a half hour. We hadn't even eaten dinner yet. So I stirred in mini chocolate chips, and put in a stainless bowl and put into the freezer until we had finished dinner. Everyone loved it. My father in law asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent! That just doesn't begin to describe this wonderful custard-based ice cream. I would definitely suggest using a high-grade chocolate, such as Scharffen Berger, both for the cocoa and semisweet chocoate. I'm a very experienced ice cream maker and this freezes just fine if you don't try to rush the custard. Ideally, custard should cure overnight to develop the flavor and once it's completely chilled, it should freeze without a problem as long as you follow your ice cream maker's instructions. Too much rock salt, your ice cream will end up grainy; not enough rock salt and your ice cream will not freeze. Let it stand in the freezer before serving to let it harden. You cannot go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! It took a bit longer to set than other recipes (I had to put it in the freezer for about 10 hours to get it nice and firm) but the taste made it worth the wait! I also left out the chocolate chips and added Girl Scout thin mint cookies. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
8 L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious! I'm not sure what the one star reviewer was on about -- if you follow the directions, this works fine. Just be aware: yes, you do need to FOLLOW the directions. The pre-cooled bowl seems to help. I used a thick Pyrex one, and that conducted the heat outwards very well. Maybe that's part of the secret. Also, be sure to whisk vigorously whenever combining ingredients (the egg and chocolate steps especially) or you will have lumps. C'est la vie. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States