Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This recipe was perfect. I wanted homemade ice cream for my daughter's birthday party and we picked this recipe because the eggs were cooked. I followed the recipe exactly. I figured on two hours freezing time and was shocked when it was finished in a half hour. We hadn't even eaten dinner yet. So I stirred in mini chocolate chips, and put in a stainless bowl and put into the freezer until we had finished dinner. Everyone loved it. My father in law asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deesselisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent! That just doesn't begin to describe this wonderful custard-based ice cream. I would definitely suggest using a high-grade chocolate, such as Scharffen Berger, both for the cocoa and semisweet chocoate. I'm a very experienced ice cream maker and this freezes just fine if you don't try to rush the custard. Ideally, custard should cure overnight to develop the flavor and once it's completely chilled, it should freeze without a problem as long as you follow your ice cream maker's instructions. Too much rock salt, your ice cream will end up grainy; not enough rock salt and your ice cream will not freeze. Let it stand in the freezer before serving to let it harden. You cannot go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! It took a bit longer to set than other recipes (I had to put it in the freezer for about 10 hours to get it nice and firm) but the taste made it worth the wait! I also left out the chocolate chips and added Girl Scout thin mint cookies. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
8 L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious! I'm not sure what the one star reviewer was on about -- if you follow the directions, this works fine. Just be aware: yes, you do need to FOLLOW the directions. The pre-cooled bowl seems to help. I used a thick Pyrex one, and that conducted the heat outwards very well. Maybe that's part of the secret. Also, be sure to whisk vigorously whenever combining ingredients (the egg and chocolate steps especially) or you will have lumps. C'est la vie. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is the first recipe I've tried with my new ice cream maker and it turned out delicious!!!!! It was soft-serve consistency after churning for 25 minutes and after 3 hours in the freezer, it is the consistency of store bought. Wow. That's all I can say, is WOW. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I cooled the first part down in an ice bath before cooling in the fridge. I will make this again and again...oh, and I used a chopped up Hershey bar since I had no fine chocolate...didn't think chocolate chips would do. Okay, okay, one more thing- I also poured it through a strainer after heating and I'm glad I did because I was able to capture some egg-type chunks. Thanks for a great go-to recipe! The kids and hubby loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was VERY good. I used Dutch process cocoa and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Some of the chocolate pieces must not have melted fully because we ended up with a few solid pieces in the ice cream. We liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I halved the recipe and made it in two batches in my tiny half-pint ice cream maker. I used half as much sugar as called for. This is the first homemade ice cream recipe I've made and it's amazing-- lucious-tasting and incredibly smooth. I'm making it for the third time right now, and will make it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
OK, I made this twice. The first was to try it as is. That was very good, but not enough chocolate for me. It was the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. Don't forget to run the liquid through a fine strainer to get any egg solids out before you give it a final chill before going into the machine. In all cases, leave it in the machine until the machine starts to beg to shut it down. YOU MUST HAVE A COLD FREEZER. This is the number one error for all the people who said that they could not get their ice cream to get past the liquid stage. My final, and best chocolate ice cream was made with 4 egg yolks, and 3.17 oz of Ghirardelli 86% Cacao Intense Dark Midnight Reverie chocolate. I also used two tablespoons of Hershey dark syrup, and a little extra cream. The ice cream is heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I used only 1 oz. of semisweet chocolate and added an ounce of unsweetened chocolate (I used the Choco-bake product that's premelted). I still thought the ice cream was too sweet. Next time, I'll omit the semisweet chocolate and use 2 oz. of unsweetened. The texture of the finished product was fantastic. I used an electric ice cream maker, which never produces a particularly solid ice cream, but I love the "soft serve" texture. Not sure how it makes 8 servings. Four of us finished it off in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skaneateles, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States