Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
My husband and I tried this for the first time tonight. It had an excellent flavor, but was too creamy for our tastes. I'll just use more regular milk instead of heavy cream next time! Thanks Alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
The best chocolate ice cream ever! I substituted a 3.5 70% cocoa Lindt choc bar for the semi-sweet. I used Hersey's dark European style cocoa powder instead of regular, and made the tablespoons heaping. I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I used my in-pan blender gizmo to whip this recipe at every stage. Result? Froze hard and was beyond dark in flavor. In my next try i'm going to add Starbucks expresso instant coffee as a further flavor booster. My version of this recipe will be named Nuclear Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim of Alexandria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
We loved this ice cream! I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and that was sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is the first ice cream I've ever made and it is sooo good! I used whole milk, heavy whipping cream and Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate. The ice cream texture is smooth, creamy and rich and it set up beautifully! I did strain my custard mixture before putting it in the refrigerator. I'm a chocoholic, so I have to admit I added an extra ounce of the semisweet chocolate plus chocolate chips. Love this recipe! It is decadent and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I am not a mega chocolate lover and thought the additional semi-sweet chocolate might be a bit much so i left it out. Loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Mmmm. Good ice cream! I've been craving something sweet all week, but nothing "too" sweet. This was perfect - creamy, smooth & mildly sweet. Although you can taste it, the chocolate note is not star here (Wendy's recipe is not overpowering or artificial tasting, despite my hubby's comment that it was "very" chocolatey lol!). If you want a more intense chocolate flavor, top your ice cream w/ chocolate syurp (the beauty of this is that it can be as sweet as you want it to be). I too had issues as AKBMEIER did, but not for the same reasons. I had no problem w/ the cooking process (i.e. tempering, melting, cooling). My hiccup was not using my (KitchenAid) ice cream maker correctly. :( In retrospect, I SHOULD have mixed my cooled chocolate, cream & vanilla together BEFORE adding to my canister. B/c I didn't, my chocolate froze, thus causing a thick build-up b/t my dasher & the edge of my canister. I almost had to give up (my dasher couldn't churn b/c everthing froze up b4 it had a chance to). In the future, I'll be more careful. :) The good news is that I was able to salvage everything w/o ruining the end product (i.e no unmixed chunks). My only complaint is that compared to other ice cream recipes, this takes a while to freeze. If you enjoy soft serve ice cream, this will be right up your alley. All in all, this is a great, basic "chocolate" ice cream recipe (not really "very" chocolately tho, IMHO...). My hubby approves of me making this again & I agree! Thanks WENDYWR! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
We got a Cuisinart ice cream maker for Christmas this year, and this is the second-ever batch of ice cream, and the first custard-based, we've made. Everyone loved it! I did add one step to the prep, and that was to strain the mixture after adding and simmering the egg yolks, and before adding the chocolate. I was glad I did as I did find tiny pieces of "something" that came out in the sieve. Two other changes I made was to use semi-sweet baking morsels (I had no big block to use) and to add 1 tsp. of espresso powder to the mix. The chocolate chips did not melt all the way, but it added a nice texture to the finished product. The espresso powder idea I got from baking, where it does not add a real coffee flavor but really "kicks up" the overall result. My DH gave the review, "It tastes like professional ice cream!" My 7 yr old son just wolfed it down! I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELENSTRUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loves a custardy, chocolaty ice cream and we liked the flavor of this made with Scharfenberger chocolate and Penzey’s cocoa. I have learned after years of ice cream making, however, that cooling the cooked mixture, adding the final ingredients and refrigerating overnight is the way to go, so that is what I did to avoid the problems that so many others had with this recipe. The overnight cooling makes a world of difference in assuring that the ice cream freezes appropriately. Although good, this recipe does not compete with “Chocolate Velvet Ice Cream” from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is my second time making icecream with my Kitchen-aid stand mixer and icecream maker attachment. I followed the instructions exactly, and I used relatively cheap chocolate (Hershey's cocoa powder, Nestles chocolate chips). It turned out fantastic! No problems with texture, no scrambled eggs chunks in the mix, no problems getting it to freeze. My guess is the dude who said he's been making icecream for years and couldn't get this to get more than thick after an hour of mixing should invest in some new equipment. Pretty stoked about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I added some extra chocololate, and it tasted very good, but would not freeze in the ice cream maker. I'm going to find another recipe that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideshowoddity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States