Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
We loved this ice-cream! I didn't have any problems getting it to freeze. After adding the egg and heating again, I removed the milk/egg mixture from the heat and stirred in chocolate chips. Once they were melted, I stirred in the cream. The cold cream, cooled the mixture quickly and after about a half hour in the freezer, it was ready for my ice-cream freezer.It's smooth and rich and perfectly chocolatey. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
AMAZING! No problem freezing. I followed directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggyway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Oh. My. Gosh. This has to be one of the best things I have ever tasted. So perfectly creamy and smooth and chocolaty. Heaven help me. I cooked the milk mixture with the egg yolks to 180 degrees, removed from heat, and dumped in the finely chopped Bakers Semi-Sweet chocolate and let it sit a few minutes, then stirred until melted completely. Refrigerated it overnight. Added the cream and vanilla just before freezing in my ice-cream maker. Absolute perfection. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was a rich creamy chocolate ice cream,I read the other reviews, but I had no problems with grainy texture, I used a wire whisk and stirred almost the whole cooking and melting time. I tempered the eggs like the recipe states and used bakers german choc, and it still turned out awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very very very good! What more is there to say that already hasn't been said. I used bittersweet chocolate. I didn't feel the need to use the vanilla and in my opinion it was not needed. To help with cocoa lumps mix the cocoa and sugar well before adding the milk. Excellent recipe. **Update** I was too lazy to make icecream so I poured the liquid into an popsicle mold and had the best ever chocolate popsicle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipe is so rich that you really don't eat that much at once; because it is so satisfying. I double and triple this recipe often (single recipe is simply not enough) and add a tablespoon or so of strong coffee for each batch to bring out the chocolate flavor even more. Chocolate chips melt better than chopping the chocolate and I use organic milk, cream and eggs. Be sure to chill thoroughly before processing in the ice cream maker or it will take a LONG time to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Made this for the 4th of July the other day and it was a huge hit! So much chocolate flavor and so creamy. So delicious! Will make a gain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
delicious! We doubled the recipe! Very smooth, great taste!! Matter of fact...think I'm gonna have another bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very yummy and creamy ... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made it as written only I doubled the recipe and The taste was excellent very rich and creamy. My only issue with this is that it was more of a chocolate mousse versus ice cream. I am putting it in the freezer to see how it is frozen solid and not soft serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States