Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very very very good! What more is there to say that already hasn't been said. I used bittersweet chocolate. I didn't feel the need to use the vanilla and in my opinion it was not needed. To help with cocoa lumps mix the cocoa and sugar well before adding the milk. Excellent recipe. **Update** I was too lazy to make icecream so I poured the liquid into an popsicle mold and had the best ever chocolate popsicle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipe is so rich that you really don't eat that much at once; because it is so satisfying. I double and triple this recipe often (single recipe is simply not enough) and add a tablespoon or so of strong coffee for each batch to bring out the chocolate flavor even more. Chocolate chips melt better than chopping the chocolate and I use organic milk, cream and eggs. Be sure to chill thoroughly before processing in the ice cream maker or it will take a LONG time to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Made this for the 4th of July the other day and it was a huge hit! So much chocolate flavor and so creamy. So delicious! Will make a gain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
delicious! We doubled the recipe! Very smooth, great taste!! Matter of fact...think I'm gonna have another bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very yummy and creamy ... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made it as written only I doubled the recipe and The taste was excellent very rich and creamy. My only issue with this is that it was more of a chocolate mousse versus ice cream. I am putting it in the freezer to see how it is frozen solid and not soft serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This turned out awesome! It was very rich, with a smooth texture. I used two handfuls of chocolate chips, and they froze into the tiniest little bits of chocolate throughout the ice cream. It was pretty tasty! I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Awesome recipe!! Very good, I had no problem with it freezing to soft serve in my machine. It is now in the freezer "ripening". Tomorrow it will be firm like store bought ice cream. Anytime I've ever made ice cream, that is the necessary steps to get it just right, so not sure what people are having problems with or they don't know about the "ripening" step. The only change I made was that instead of using 2 cups of heavy cream (I just couldn't fathom all that fat), I used 1 cup cream and 1 cup milk, on top of the initial cup of milk. I sneaked a few bites before putting it in the freezer and it was AMAZING!!! I don't know how I'll wait. I also did like a few other people and I strained it after melting in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was only my second time using my maker AND I couldn't find the directions so I had no idea how long it was supposed to run! Mine turned out very soft but I could just need to freeze it longer too! We were impatient but it was SO GOOD!!!! Great flavor! I just used chocolate chips in this and it worked perfect! Thanks! Update: After sitting in the freezer longer it did turn into the consistency of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe for Chocolate Ice Cream is excellent! I will never buy ice cream from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States