Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is the best ice cream EVER! I will never use another chocolate ice cream recipe. I made this for some friends and they couldn't quit raving over it. Follow the instructions exactly and you will have a perfect, velvety smooth and rich ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made the custard base and oh man! It is delicious!! I used dark cocoa powder and then melted milk chocolate chips in place of the chocolate...waiting for it to cool...and I'm going to whip the whipping cream before adding it. Make it fluffier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
We've made several chocolate ice cream recipes and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've tried a variety of different ice cream recipes over the years, but this is by far my favorite. In fact, without the chocolate, the recipe is still viable with any flavoring, and I have made it with green tea (2 cups of green tea leaves and 1 tbl. of green tea tincture in 1/12 cups of milk left on a warm stove for quite some time to steep, substitute for the 1 cup milk in recipe, as it will cook down a little). Some seem to have had problems with this freezing, but I never have. I have used crushed ice, but prefer snow as a cooling agent. I have sometimes added a little more milk, some half-and-half, with an extra yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this using 4 squares (out of 8) of a 3.5 oz Lindt Excellence 70% Cocoa Smooth Dark bar. I tried grating it but it was too fine and was melting in my hands so I threw it in the food processor for a few seconds. I also used a wire whisk while heating sugar mixture on stove for better mixing. It was so yummy that I was eating it right out of the ice cream maker while it was going 'round. The texture was so creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used an Emergency Dark Chocolate bar instead of semi-sweet, and it turned out great! Also, I didn't have an ice cream maker at my disposal, so I had to use the freezer, but I had no problems freezing the ice cream at all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I had only Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, so I added some espresso powder as well. The best ice cream I've ever tasted. My family loved it too! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe and instructions and it was super runny still 20 minutes into freezing it in my ice cream maker. I have never had this problem before so now I'm trying to figure out how to fix it so a whole batch of ice cream doesn't get turned into a very expensive chocolate milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
It does take longer to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I will never buy store bought ice cream again! I added toasted almonds for a kick and all I can say is OMG! To Die For!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States