Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Best ice cream EVER! I couldn't believe I had made it myself. It reminds me of being a kid and getting a big dip of chocolate ice cream at the soda shoppe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? Michael Smith ?

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Excellent recipe. Like any other recipe, the quality of the ingredients used will make a big difference. I haven't had any problems getting it to freeze, but then again I always leave it in the freezer overnight. Also, to keep little ice crystals from forming I put saran wrap on top of the ice cream when i first put it in the container for the freezer. I have made this recipe 7 times. I do make some freestyle additions, including using vanilla paste instead of just extract, and changing up the chocolate types (i do like a good dark!), and adding an extra 1/8 cup of drinking chocolate for decadent richness. I also like to substitute half and half for the milk. Good recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This recipe is amazing. It's kind of challenging and it took longer than hoped to freeze in my Cuisinart ice cream maker, but the directions are good and the product is amazing. I'm almost glad it's not easier to make because I would probably make it too often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM IN THE CUP OR CONE SO YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Chocolate is never the flavor I pick when making ice cream. However, our friends' kids requested chocolate so I tried this recipe. I am now a chocolate convert. This recipe make a very creamy ice cream - just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I just made this ice cream again for a second time and it is by far the best that I've had!! My family loved it so much the first time, I doubled the recipe this time. It was a hit! This will be my go to recipe for ice ceam!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and used my Cuisinart machine. It froze perfectly. This is very rich and chocolatey. I think it is even better after sitting in the freezer overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Richest, most wonderful chocolate ice cream ever! Followed directions exactly and it froze like a very firm soft serve. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
WOW. Just wow! I am floored by the velvety texture and rich taste of this ice cream! These 5-star reviews weren't joking—this ice cream is really, really really really good. I'm a pretty picky eater, so I was expecting a good recipe... but nothing this wonderful. Miles better than anything I've bought from the store lately! Like another reviewer, I actually prefer this to Haagen Dazs too. I will say that my ice cream has some tiny flecks of chocolate in it, probably because I didn't crush the bar too finely. I love it this way, though. For ingredients, I used half a 4oz bar of Ghirardelli unsweetened, Hershey's natural unsweetened cocoa, McCormick's pure vanilla extract, Land Lakes heavy whip cream, Organic Valley's whole milk, and whatever salt/sugar came out of my cabinet. I was cautious with preparations after reading a lot of reviews here, and it pretty much turned out perfectly. When tempering the eggs, stir very quickly and mix very well before adding it back to the saucepan! For me, it was a bubbly and homogeneous honey-brown-colored mix. No yellow visible whatsoever! I was also careful not to boil anything, though this resulted in me turning the heat kind of low.. the mixture thickened only slightly before I took it off the heat (newbie ice cream maker here, not sure how thick it's supposed to get). But the results suggest I did fine, so huzzah! :-) My mom stuffed it in the freezer for half an hour and by then it was chilled enough (not frozen at all) to be put in our
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
4 hours and 20 minutes to make ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bag Captain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States