Very Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My family really enjoyed the recipe. It was nice and creamy and we used a hand crank to make it perfect. I mixed different types of chocolate to help it. Most was very good German Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
While this is very nice, it certainly isn't "Very Chocolate." I think I'll try it again, with substantially more cocoa and boil it in a little coffee before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe Hatch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Ohhhhhhh so delicious, the rich chocolate flavor definitely came through and it had the perfect texture. This recipe definitley smashed it out of the ballpark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
O. M. G. This is amazing! I made it twice. The first time I used Hersheys special dark cocoa and ghiardelli dark chocolate. It was delicious. The second time I followed the directions exactly, except I used ghiardelli sweet ground instead of unsweetened cocoa, and it was also amazing. After I took it out of the ice cream maker, I drizzled melted chocolate (semi sweet, but you can use any) slowly into the ice cream while whisking it. It hardens like the chocolate does in stracciatella gelato and I really can't stress how good it tastes. Little bits of thin flaky chocolate. Yuuum. You would never know this ice cream is homemade. Not sure why people had trouble with it hardening. I didn't have issues either time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skater734

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have been making ice cream for a while and I really love the texture of this ice cream. As for grainy texture there is none if mixed properly and not on a high temperature. I felt it was pretty easy to make and super easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charcolmama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! My family love it very much. The first time I left the mixture in the machine too long, so the ice cream was watery. The original recipe is too sweet, so I cut down 1/3 of sugar for the second time. The second time was success. The ice cream is smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I hadn't really given much thought to making chocolate ice cream until I saw this recipe. I wondered whether the texture and flavor would live up to my expectations of what I like in a chocolate ice cream...smooth and chocolaty. Happily, my family was all surprised how good the outcome of this was- never having "homemade" chocolate ice cream before! I'm not sure why others had the freezing problems. I think perhaps their base or ice cream freezer wasn't cold enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great ice cream. Very creamy added an extra oz of chocolate as my husband is a chocoholic. This was first time I made it. Followed instructions, slowly tempered the egg yolks, strained the custard before putting it in refrigerator. Put in ice cream maker and came out as a firm soft serve ice cream. Put it in freezer for a couple of hours to harden a bit more (husband likes it best that way). However, I loved the firm soft serve taste and texture. Yum very smooth, creamy, and chocolate tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
GREAT Recipe!!! I have used this several times and have NEVER had a complaint.*TIP*(for those having a hard time getting it to freeze: #1 don't skimp on the salt in the ice (remember its the salt melting the ice and thus creating it to quickly release its cold energy and ability to achieve 17 degrees F. #2 "Age" the mixture overnight in fridge. # 3 freeze the canister before adding the mixture. I have also substituted heavy cream for half and half and had great results, as well. However, I must add, when I did so I also sprinkled in 1/8 tsp. of guar gum (can be bought @ any organic store) per batch. DONT OVER DO it tho, itll turn into marshmallow!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States