Very Berry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made these yesterday with my fresh from garden raspberries. They didn't rise, and were very bland tasting. We didn't like them. Sorry but wont make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These didn't rise at all and I was thinking they were going to be a flop, but they ended up tasting very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This we a good muffin, but not great. I doubled the sugar and added a teaspoon of vanilla, but it still wasn't sweet or flavorful enough. Next time, I'll add applesauce and perhaps chocolate chips to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akchick70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
They're very good! I used one cup of blueberries and one cup of strawberries! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I really like this recipe. I made it two weeks ago and my boyfriend just requested them again. I did use whole wheat flour because that is all i had and i subsitited the oil for apple sauce. I increased the brown sugar to a 1/2 cup, my boyfriend has a sweet tooth, a couple actually. Even though I made some small changes it is still the best berry muffin recipe I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipe is good in theory, but I found it needed some help. I do not think that 1/4c. sugar is enough. I will double that it my next attempt. I did use a sugar substitute, but it was equal measure. I also increased the cinnamon, added 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1 tsp. vanilla. It was still slightly bland. I may try adding lemon juice and zest, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Followed revision as suggested by Jennifer, but increased sour cream to two tablespoons. Simpy delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Not my fave. I think I will try applesauce instead of oil next time...and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
with changes: 1/2 c packed brown sugar, 1 t each baking soda and powder, 3 T butter not oil. Made them again with oil, 1/2 c sour cream and 1/2 milk. Just not great muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These turned out quite well for me. I used whole wheat white flour, a teaspoon each of baking powder and baking soda (that's always worked for me, so I do that with almost every muffin recipe), lowfat buttermilk instead of plain milk (as that was what I had on hand--I used milk, just a different kind of milk), and two cups organic triple-berry mix that was in my deep freeze. These came together quickly and used on hand ingredients which meant it fit really well into my tight budget. Next time I make these, I might add a teaspoon of vanilla. I think that was what was missing out of this recipe. I got twelve biggish muffins out of this recipe and 350* for 20 minutes was just right. My youngest son ate three in ten minutes at lunch. I would say that he really liked these. NOTE: For novice bakers, I find that a full tablespoon of baking powder that I tried in a previous recipe was too much and the taste of baking powder way overpowered the rest of the recipe. Just wanted to save some of you the trouble if you try this out for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States