Very Berry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I found this recipe while looking for a dessert to enter in our company's annual blackberry contest featuring many entries of delectable blackberry treats and blind-judged by several different "higher-ups" in the company. This recipe was very easy to make in steps. I was able to whip this up while I also cooking dinner, caring for our demanding toddler, etc. Made crust first, put in the fridge. Then, the next time I had a breather, I whipped up the filling. Filling sat for a bit before I could put it all together and throw in the oven. I made a mistake on the crust and melted 8 tbsp (a whole cube) of butter instead of 6. I had already added the crushed wafers to the butter, so I just crushed up and added more wafers until the consistency was right. I ended up using a total of 53 wafers. It turned out very well. I used small-curd cottage cheese and it blended smooth easily. I substituted orange juice for the brandy. I also used frozen blackberries, which I would not recommend. It was a lot of extra work to get them dry enough to use. Plus, they were sour and not as big and juicy and sweet as the fresh ones I could have picked on our hill (I should have sent the kids out to pick them!). I used the 8" springform pan - but next time I would use the 9", because the cake did not get as done as I wanted it to in the center. I baked it at 375 deg. for 57 minutes! I'm pleased to say that this cheesecake was awarded the second place prize in the contest! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I have made this recipe at least a couple dozen times. It is my standby when bringing a dessert to a gathering, and is so popular with family and friends that it is requested often. The texture is amazingly silky and light! The flavor is lovely whether I use cherry brandy or kirsh. My favorite fruit choices for this are sour cherries or blackberries, and I often put a sour cream and sugar layer over the top just before the fruit topping, which tastes as great as it looks. I sometimes make it with a graham cracker crust just for variety. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Great recipe. I put the berries in a blender with some sugar then swirled it into the filling. Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Cottage Cheese makes the flavor a little lighter than other cheesecakes I have made. My mother-in-law is from Germany and she loved it. I used blueberries in the cake & did not make the topping, i just used fresh blueberries to top the cake after baking. It was sweet enought without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I love this cheesecake. I use a frozen berry blend (strawberries, blueberries, red raspberries, and blackberries), buying two bags. I thaw them, put one in the dessert, following the recipe, and mix the other with sugar for topping. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Fluffy, creamy, & delicious! This cheesecake - made with blueberries, orange juice, & the syrup from a jar of meraschino cherries (instead of the brandy), was the most perfect cheesecake I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Terrific cheesecake! I didn't have cherry brandy on hand and used raspberry liqueur but followed the instructions otherwise. Flavour is amazing and texture is perfect, even if I wasn't sure about cottage cheese at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Fabulous! I added another half to the recipe to fill my 9 inch pan. I also used frozen black raspberries. I baked it for 40 minutes in my convection oven (no water bath) and then just let it set there in the oven for another 2-3 hours. It was done perfectly and no cracks! I took it to a church function and everyone raved about how good it looked and tasted. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I have made this recipe six times now, and have had six huge successes! Family and friends alike rave over it ~ even the "cheesecake purists" are impressed. Now that the season for fresh berries is past, I am using those from my freezer with no problems. It works well with a graham cracker crust too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Nice refreshing cake and a nice presentation. I had to bake about 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated. Used mix of blueberries, mulberries, and raspberries which worked just fine. Cottage cheese seemed like an odd addition, but didn't notice any variation in the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States