Very Berry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
The cheesecake was great! My only modification was using blackberry brandy instead of cherry. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I bought a springform pan as a house warming gift and I thought that I should fill it with something. This recipe worked great. The only thing that I changed was to use frozen mixed berries (strawberry, raspberry, blueberry & blackberry). Turned out great and everyone at the party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Terrific cheesecake! I didn't have cherry brandy on hand and used raspberry liqueur but followed the instructions otherwise. Flavour is amazing and texture is perfect, even if I wasn't sure about cottage cheese at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was fantastic. It is soooo delicous. I needed to cook this for 55 mins. We went blackberry picking in the morning & made this late afternoon. It was so good with fresh blackberries. I highly recommend that everyone tries it. Thanks Eleanor for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
As many modifications as I made, I probably shouldn't even review this recipe! I used vanilla yogurt instead of cottage cheese (I was really afraid of it being chunky--yuck); I used a splash of almond liquour and the rest sour cherry concentrate in place of the cherry brandy (didn't have any)---so my cheesecake was a pretty pink! I didn't have vanilla wafers, so I crushed up some animal crackers and added the butter with a little sugar. I used wild black raspberries--yummy, but seedy. I like this recipe because I only have an 8" springform pan, and this is a recipe that will work! I think I cooked it too high for too short of a time, because the edges browned while the middle was still a little goopy, but the flavor was great and the texture ( of what cooked) was smooth and creamy, and light but not too fluffy. I think this could be a great cheesecake, if I made it the right way! As it was, I was happy with the results, and I am encouraged to keep trying with my cheesecake making skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was excellent. I have made many cheesecakes with the Raspberry bush in the backyard...but this was probably the best. The only think I changed was using sour cream instead of cottage cheese. I did not have any on hand. It turned out very delicious!! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Nice refreshing cake and a nice presentation. I had to bake about 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated. Used mix of blueberries, mulberries, and raspberries which worked just fine. Cottage cheese seemed like an odd addition, but didn't notice any variation in the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
It's was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I found this recipe while looking for a dessert to enter in our company's annual blackberry contest featuring many entries of delectable blackberry treats and blind-judged by several different "higher-ups" in the company. This recipe was very easy to make in steps. I was able to whip this up while I also cooking dinner, caring for our demanding toddler, etc. Made crust first, put in the fridge. Then, the next time I had a breather, I whipped up the filling. Filling sat for a bit before I could put it all together and throw in the oven. I made a mistake on the crust and melted 8 tbsp (a whole cube) of butter instead of 6. I had already added the crushed wafers to the butter, so I just crushed up and added more wafers until the consistency was right. I ended up using a total of 53 wafers. It turned out very well. I used small-curd cottage cheese and it blended smooth easily. I substituted orange juice for the brandy. I also used frozen blackberries, which I would not recommend. It was a lot of extra work to get them dry enough to use. Plus, they were sour and not as big and juicy and sweet as the fresh ones I could have picked on our hill (I should have sent the kids out to pick them!). I used the 8" springform pan - but next time I would use the 9", because the cake did not get as done as I wanted it to in the center. I baked it at 375 deg. for 57 minutes! I'm pleased to say that this cheesecake was awarded the second place prize in the contest! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I love this cheesecake. I use a frozen berry blend (strawberries, blueberries, red raspberries, and blackberries), buying two bags. I thaw them, put one in the dessert, following the recipe, and mix the other with sugar for topping. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States