Veronica's Apple Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I altered these to make them less caloric, and they still came out fabulous! My daughter loved them. I substituted 2 Tbsp. Splenda for the sugar, 1/8 c. applesauce for half of the butter, two egg whites for the one egg and used nonfat milk. I also doubled the cinnamon. I ate mine completely plain - was almost like dessert instead of breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Great recipe! I added a bit more cinnamon like other reviews suggested and added a tbsp or so more splenda on top of the pancakes. I discovered they need to cook quick to be fluffy, on medium high heat. If you cook them too slow, they will turn out dense. Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmblount

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
So, so good! I've made this twice already and everyone in the family really loves it. I've just used one apple each time. Once it was a little over a cup, once a little under, and both times it turned out fine. I grate the apple with the skin still on, and you don't really notice it. My only very slight complaint is that I usually make double recipes of pancakes and freeze the extra so I can just pop them in the toaster in the morning for a quick breakfast for my toddlers. Well, for some reason these don't taste very good reheated. Oh well, it's worth making fresh whenever we need some apple pancakes! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Very simple to make in the morning. Great tasting, if you don't use cinnamon syrup, they could definitely use more cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were great! I chopped the apple into tiny little pieces instead of shredding. It gave the pancakes a nice texture. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the cinnamon and sugar. Served them with whipped cream. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These were really tasty! I made them for Sunday morning breakfast for my kids along with Orange Smoothies (also found on allrecipes)and they just loved it. I also used my food processor to grate the appples - what a timesaver. The pancakes are very dense and the apples really give this recipe that extra something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
These were good...a nice change from plain pancakes. I think next time I will add more cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Wow! These were great. Very moist with just the right taste of apples. My kids loved them. I went to eat the leftovers next morning (I made a double batch right from the start), but someone got to them before I did. Must go make some more now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
These tunred out wonderful! My husband told me twice how delicious they were. My picky 4 yr. old asked for seconds. I doubled the cinnamon per reviews below. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe as writtten and with a few changes, and it's fantastic both ways! To make this recipe a bit healthier for my kids I substitute whole wheat flour for about half of the all-purpose flour and substitute honey for the sugar. I also double the cinnamon and add about a tsp. of vanilla extract. My kids actually prefer this recipe with the whole wheat flour - it gives the pancakes a wonderful nutty flavor that really compliments the apples and cinnamon well. I usually double this recipe and it's the perfect amount for my family of six. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States