Veronica's Apple Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not bad! The applesauce for butter substitute (mentioned by one reviewer) works well. I doubled the cinnamon and substituted a packet of vanilla sugar and some Splenda for the white sugar. Will make again! Edit: I made this a second time, using a 2 tablespoons sugar: the packet of vanilla sugar and the rest brown sugar. It was perfect. Also, I found it's worth the time to shred the apple(s) instead of just dicing them. The pancakes cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These were not good. They were undercooked no matter how low I cooked them on the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious with freshly picked galas! My kids gobbled up four each...a record for them. Good thing I doubled the recipe. I served them with the recipe for hot cinnamon sauce. Felt more like dessert than breakfast! But everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Very good pancakes however I would add more cinnamon next time as we couldn't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a great pancake recipe! I doubled the recipe but left the apple quantity the same... and substituted whole wheat as I always do. Super tasty. Added salt thinking I wrote it down wrong but it was a winner recipe that aside. I also drizzled some of the butter into the pan prior to adding it to the recipe and it was a niiice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Fleming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
As written, inedible. Pancakes need some amount of salt....1/2 tsp for the batch is plenty but without it we had to throw it away. Aside from that, this was decent, but not as apply as I expected. Next time I may replace some butter with applesauce just for the additional apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Excellent recipe. My tips: fine to lower the butter. No need to grease a pan if you use Teflon. I use two small pans to get them cooked faster for the family. Splenda instead of sugar works great--I increase the amount a bit. One green apple works fine for 4 pancakes. Drop the cinnamon if you're not a huge fan (like me). I top it with grade A maple syrup and some homemade whipped cream. Fantastic stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Super tasty! I doubled the recipe to start with based on reviews of how quickly they were eaten. My selective children even ate them! 3 & 5 yr old. Next time I will make them healthier though. But quite the indulgence for all that butter! I ate them plain, my kids put applesauce and cinn/sugar sprinkles on them. Very good. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These pancakes are superb! Very basic and easy recipe. My entire family enjoyed them. Flavor was great and the pancakes were so fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These are super simple and super delicious. We served them with the cinnamon cream syrup from this site. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 151-160 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States