Vernita's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for a Christmas dinner side dish this year and got rave reviews. I did tweak it a little...I sauteed the onion first, chopped up the broccoli a little and increased the Ritz Crackers to about a 1/2 sleeve. I also used sharp cheddar for a stronger flavor and added a tablespoon of garlic salt and used low sodium mushroom soup instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRT929

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
i like this recipe. simple, fast, & cheesy! what more could you ask for? i used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. i may add garlic next time. but this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had planned to eat leftovers the next day...but there weren't any!! I added 1 can cream of celery soup, substitued milk for the water, and used fresh brocolli (2 stalks) instead of frozen. I added some Italian spice for flavor, and cut the cheese in half....my husband asked if we could have it for T-Day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this casserole. I made it as a side dish with our pork chops and it was great! The crunch of the Ritz on top really made this dish stand out. I didn't have enough cheddar on hand but it was still really good. I did, however, cook the rice separately as we do not use instant rice-therefore i omitted the water. I will be making this casserole again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Good and easy recipe. I'm the guy that is always designated to bring paper plates and napkins to the family get togethers. So when I brought this broccoli casserole everyone was nervous. Turned out to be a hit. One family member said it was the best she's had. I made a few changes...substituted milk for water, and increased the amount of milk by 1/2 cup...and doubled the amount of crackers and butter for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I subtracted the rice and added a pound of hamburger, and it was great-- even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This darn broccoli casserole was REALLY good!! My tweaks: I cooked the rice first and replaced the water with milk, used reduced calorie cream of chicken instead of mushroom, used 1/2 sleeve of wheat ritz crackers, and about a 1 and 1/2 cup of cheese instead of 2. I also added a little pepper and garlic salt to the mix. AWESOME!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The recipe is good as it is, my husband don't like onion so I didn't put it in but it still taste fantastic! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I subbed a cup of milk for the water and used more crackers than called for. This was delicious! I would use very little onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I use cheddar cheese soup instead of the mushroom soup and 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk. This ones a keeper. Fast and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States