Vernita's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very good; will make again. Used instant brown rice, and because I was rushed used dried minced onion and added a bit of freeze dried garlic. Leftovers were just as yummy. Leftover chicken would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
THANK YOU for a recipe that calls for REAL CHEESE and not process cheese spread or Velveeta or any other goo that's not real cheese! I had no crackers so I left them off (DH is gluten intolerant anyway). That said, I also had to make my own cream of mushroom soup (couldn't take the chance that Campbell's has wheat in it) but that was no problem. I had leftover rice, and broccoli flowerets and onion cook in minutes in the microwave, so I basically just stirred everything together and heated it up. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This darn broccoli casserole was REALLY good!! My tweaks: I cooked the rice first and replaced the water with milk, used reduced calorie cream of chicken instead of mushroom, used 1/2 sleeve of wheat ritz crackers, and about a 1 and 1/2 cup of cheese instead of 2. I also added a little pepper and garlic salt to the mix. AWESOME!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The recipe is good as it is, my husband don't like onion so I didn't put it in but it still taste fantastic! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I subbed a cup of milk for the water and used more crackers than called for. This was delicious! I would use very little onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
i like this recipe. simple, fast, & cheesy! what more could you ask for? i used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. i may add garlic next time. but this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I use cheddar cheese soup instead of the mushroom soup and 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup milk. This ones a keeper. Fast and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
While it was easy, it didn't have much flavor. Maybe adding some hot sauce, garlic or herbs would have given it the extra kick it needed. May try again with some revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Good and easy recipe. I'm the guy that is always designated to bring paper plates and napkins to the family get togethers. So when I brought this broccoli casserole everyone was nervous. Turned out to be a hit. One family member said it was the best she's had. I made a few changes...substituted milk for water, and increased the amount of milk by 1/2 cup...and doubled the amount of crackers and butter for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this casserole. I made it as a side dish with our pork chops and it was great! The crunch of the Ritz on top really made this dish stand out. I didn't have enough cheddar on hand but it was still really good. I did, however, cook the rice separately as we do not use instant rice-therefore i omitted the water. I will be making this casserole again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States