Vermont Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I cut this recipe out of a magazine ages ago, and finally decided to serve it on Thanksgiving. I made the cakes ahead of time and froze them until Thanksgiving. They were just a tad dry, so watch your baking time! The frosting is amazing!! My husband would eat just a bowl of this frosting if I let him. Everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner RAVED about this cake, it really is delicious. Next time I would put the cake together a day ahead of when I was going to serve it, so the icing gets into the cake more. I also covered the top of the cake with pecan pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I usually make the same thing every Thanksgiving, but this year I wanted to try something new, and different, so looked up by the ingredients and found this wonderfull, and very tasty cake, which made my whole family very happy, they loved it, and anyone knows that when your grandmother says you better bring that to her thanksgiving then it was worth it!! Great recipe, delicious and all to gether YUMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This cake won 2nd place in my company's pumpkin cooking contest (The judging must have been fixed b/c it definately deserved 1st place!) The maple frosting really adds a lot to what would otherwise be just your average spice cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was an awesome cake. I've never tasted a better spice cake in my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMIJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brechin, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
I did not make the cake but did use the frosting recipe. It's very good but watch out for the amount of confectioners sugar that you use. I used a half a cup less than the recipe stated and it was still just a tad too sweet for me. Start testing it after two cups to get the sweetness level you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I must have done something wrong - my cake turned out very dry. The icing was outstanding, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is the best spice cake I have ever tasted! It was everything a spice cake should be and more. It was moist, tender, sweet, and had the perfect amount of spice. The maple cream cheese frosting is wonderful too and goes nice with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Excellent cake, very moist and dense. The only thing I would change is to use less confectioner's sugar in the icing; it was quite sweet. I sprinkled chopped walnuts over the entire cake to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
great cake! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States