Vermont Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Becky
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this pie the day after Apple picking. I was concerned that I should've used Granny Smith apples, but the fresh, firm, Macintosh apples that we picked were absolutely delicious in this pie! I did add lemon juice to the Apple filling before baking, and I also used one beaten whole egg for an egg wash for the top of the pie. Other than those two changes, I followed the recipe entirely. I let the pie sit for four hours. There was some liquid in the bottom (maybe 1/8 cup) but I just drained it from the pie an hour before serving. This pie was phenomenal!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Frozen pie crust is cheating. Quit being lazy. This is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Freakin' delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the best! The wife doesn't even like apple pie but she likes this one. HOWEVER, after making this several times, I add a tablespoon or two of corn starch to the apples to help with the runniness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I baked it for 55 minutes at 375 just like it said, I let it sit for several hours and i cut into it and it was an apple juice pie lol but I didn't care! I put it in the microwave since i wanted to eat it warm.... and the juice thickened. So the light bulb went on. I made a tinfoil TP and put the pie back in the oven even with the piece missing. Baked it at 400 in 15 minute increments. I ended up baking it for 45 more minutes. My pan is the paula deen pan though. it's 11.5 inches. Then it set up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make, my first baking experience and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good pie.I Bought so many Mac's.Found this recipe.First time I made it was a little sweet and runny.So my grand Daughter and I used 1tbl sugar and like a reader suggested 1/4 cup more flour.Came out great.My wife cut into it after it cooled and was fine.My daughter and her family liked sweet.My wife and I don't eat a lot of sweets so we didn't.Also used as 1 said mr's smiths frozen crusts,but was hard to cover pie,so this time we used jiff pie crust.Awsome.My 10 yr old used strips to make lattice top.thanks for the recipe Gary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this pie! The only things I changed were reducing the sugar by 1/4 cup and I mix granny smith and red apples. I had no problems with it setting up and my family loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
The perfect apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birgitte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this recipe because I have a Pampered Chef deep dish pie pan that I wanted to use... this recipe tasted wonderful in it... great flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States