Venus de Milo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WeekendCook1971
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Awesome! Easy to make and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendCook1971

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is a great soup. I used spicy Itallian chicken sausage and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Fantastic soup. I followed the recipe the first time and it was great! The second time I used 1Qt each home made chicken and beef stock in place of the bouillon and water, added 3 more bay leaves, 2 tbs of Worcestershire sauce, some red pepper flake and a full carton of fresh sliced mushrooms. It was even better, but no matter how you slice it this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was simply the best soup I have had in awhile. Really amazing and filling. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I am originally from New England, and remember attending the Venus de Milo for functions years ago. This soup was legendary in the area, and very much requested. You won't regret making it at all! It is wholesome and very tasty, even if you use ground turkey in place of the ground beef. Additionally, if you sprinkle some parmesean cheese on it before serving, impossibly it becomes even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe. I am from Massachusetts and we used to have this frequently. It is very filling and is absolutely delicious. It goes great with some crusty Italian bread. Use any small pasta you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This went over very well with my family, even the picky eaters. Added oregano, red pepper flakes, sage, basil, and parsley. Upped bouillon to 3 cubes and garlic to 3 tsp. This makes a LOT of soup, had enough to feed 3 of us, save at least another meal's worth for leftovers in fridge, and freeze another meal's worth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soup was wonderful! Easy to make, economical and the whole family loved it! I subbed beef broth for the water and bouillon, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, lizchedid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My goodness this is a delicious soup. I had everything on hand so it went together really fast. I subbed tortellini for the orzo just for grandkids fun. They gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States