Venus de Milo Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was simply the best soup I have had in awhile. Really amazing and filling. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I am originally from New England, and remember attending the Venus de Milo for functions years ago. This soup was legendary in the area, and very much requested. You won't regret making it at all! It is wholesome and very tasty, even if you use ground turkey in place of the ground beef. Additionally, if you sprinkle some parmesean cheese on it before serving, impossibly it becomes even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe. I am from Massachusetts and we used to have this frequently. It is very filling and is absolutely delicious. It goes great with some crusty Italian bread. Use any small pasta you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This went over very well with my family, even the picky eaters. Added oregano, red pepper flakes, sage, basil, and parsley. Upped bouillon to 3 cubes and garlic to 3 tsp. This makes a LOT of soup, had enough to feed 3 of us, save at least another meal's worth for leftovers in fridge, and freeze another meal's worth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
At first I thought I added too much water...definitely thickened up after cooking. I did use ground chicken instead of beef. I very much enjoyed this soup, especially with a liberal dose of red pepper. Gave it only 4 stars because my daughter did not like it. Dad said it "was good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I'm not usually a review writer but I feel this recipe is so good that it could use a little extra publicity! I found it when I was looking for a good/quick/easy winter recipe to use up the orzo that had been sitting in the cabinet for a while. Typically I aim for recipes with more reviews but since all the other reviewers raved about it and I happened to have almost all of the ingredients, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. The first time I made the recipe, I followed it exactly and it was fantastic! I made it a second time tonight (perfect for freak April snowstorms in CO), but instead of using beef, I substituted homemade, ground, game sausage. It really made a great soup truly outstanding! As a bonus, the leftovers are really good too. I plan on freezing some this time around so I'm curious to see how it tastes after that considering it has pasta in it. But seeing as how this recipe makes SO much soup, I don't want any to go to waste once the weather warms back up by the end of the week! Usually with this type of recipe I would take a lot of liberty, especially in the spice department, but with this one I think it's pretty perfect the way it is! It's got to be something about the combo of the onion soup mix and bouillon gives that gives this recipe a little of that je ne sais quoi factor! Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My entire family loves this soup. I have made it a few times and followed the recipe to a tee. It tastes just like Venus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I worked at the Venus for years. You forgot three important parts, the mushrooms, the grated Parmesan Romano and the bread for dipping!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeekendCook1971
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Awesome! Easy to make and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendCook1971

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States