Venison Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is one of our family favorites! I've done these as bite sized appetizers baked in the oven and as "stuffed backstrap" on the grill. Making it as one or two large backstrap pieces, putting it onto a platter and slicing off servings, takes less time to prepare. We've used the Italian dressing as the marinade, but if you're not a fan you can replace the dressing with any marinade of your choice. We've also used soy/worchester with 1 tsp. ground ginger, which is equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I have been cooking a simular recipe for years with maple bacon and that is what I had on hand. That being the only ingredient change I made. These are very tasty! Spicy....so if you don't like the heat, cut the jalapeno slice in half, but they are so good in this recipe. It was raining, so I broiled them, turning once, until bacon was crispy. Also, I "nuked" the bacon half done to make sure the bacon was done and the venison NOT overcooked. This recipe is a keeper and will be devoured again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
delicious, i baked them however, and they were great. the taste is a welcome change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These were great. I added two slices of pepper but I like spicy food. We even had some surprise guest who really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This is our favorite way to eat backstrap! Use fresh jalapenos sliced and half with seeds removed instead of pickled for a little less heat. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have never liked venison but this was by far the best venison recipe I've tasted. I did cook the bacon part way before putting it all together. Has a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm not a huge venison fan but I loved this! Hubby agrees and we will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
LESAXTON-Thanks for a great recipe! In the days leading up to Super Bowl, I was debating on what dish to make for the family. Well, my problem was solved when my neighbor and hunting partner emailed me this recipe. I changed the recipe by using Dale's Meat Marinade, as an injection and soaking marinade for the venison. I rolled the wraps up after letting the meat marinade for about 4 hours, and put them on the grill. Also, instead of using skewers, I put the rolls onto a wire press basket that is usually used to grill vegetables and it worked great. All I can say is....WOW! It was a hit with the entire family. This will be a regular for any occasion and when family/friends visit. If someone doesn't like hot and spicy food, just use less of the pickled jalapeno, leave them out, or try a sweeter pepper (banana pepper). Give this recipe a try, you won't regret it. Make sure to watch your grill, the bacon grease will flame up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
OMG wonderful!!!! We are big venison eaters, and this was GREAT! The ONLY thing I did differently was added a little apple cider to the marinade. Will make this again and again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
i thought the dressing was overpowering and didn't fit well and the cream cheese allthough it sounds like it would be good didn't turn out to be very good when combined and heated with everything. i ate everything but probably won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States