Venison with Blackberry Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I cut two back straps (whole tenderloin) in to thirds, salt/peppered them, and then grilled them medium rare. Cut them into medallions, put on a platter, drizzled a little of the sauce and garnished with blackberries. It was great and served 9. Next time, I may add a little chopped up chili pepper to the reduction for some heat. I probably added more jam than called for, but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Sauce was amazing. Seared the venison in butter, than simmered in wine, then wrapped and broiled it in maple bacon in the oven. Topped with sautéed mushrooms, sauce and berries. Served with potato wedges and arugula goat cheese salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
What a great change. Even made it so that those that have always said, "I don't like venison." all of a sudden take a second look... and a second helping. That is a good thing with picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Huston

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
2-3 hrs not 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Made this sauce exactly as written, including the cornstarch addition. None of the ingredients stole the show. The sauce was delicious over medium-rare grilled venison steaks. This is worthy of making for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I don’t make a lot of reduction sauces, so I really didn’t know what to expect given the fact that this recipe does not contain any herbs or spices. Suffice to say, it was fabulous! I did not have any blackberry jam, but I did have a bottle of Manischewitz Blackberry Wine. I used that in place of the red wine and thickened the sauce with cornstarch. Did not add salt, but seasoned with ground white pepper. This was good over the venison, but I can envision this sauce over a bacon wrapped filet Mignon and topped with sautéed mushrooms. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I braised the vension in some of the merlot to give it more flavor. I think this sauce is amazing, but it needs a little more so that there is enough for each steak. I used tenderlion pieces instead of steak and the meat was so tender with this sauce on top I fell in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmy
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I grilled the steaks because it was a beautiful night and I much prefer the meat grilled! I hadn't made this for a long time but now looking forward to summer to enjoy this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States