Venison Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Three words....YUM, YUM, YUM!!! Absolutely delicious and not a soup that sits in your belly for hours or makes you feel overstuffed. I did, however, use "ground" venison (Deer meat) instead of cubed and substituted fresh veggies instead of frozen. I also used real garlic (3 large cloves) instead of the powdered version. A word of caution to you "finiky" folks...this soup WILL retain it's "gamey" flavor, though it is rather subtle. Do not think that you can simply simmer it out. If you love Venison, you'll love this soup! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Very good soup which my boyfriend and roommate LOVED! Let me rephrase that - my boyfriend's whole picky family loved it too! I cubed my own celery, carrots, and green peppers. I also threw in a TBLS of minced garlic, and used 1 can of beef broth and one less cup of water. If you use "fresh" venison (meaning - it hasn't sat in your freezer forever. Venison tends to taste gamier the longer it sits in your freezer) you can't tell the meat is venison. Very good, very easy, and when I'm in the mood to spoil my man, I'll send some with him when he heads up north to the cabin. Thanks Jaimee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I loved this recipe! It is a new way for me to use the roast. The meat came out so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My whole family loved it!!!This is Awesome !! Thanks rhkatz3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Wonderfully good! I had some grape tomatoes which I used along with the stewed tomatoes. (Please don't worry about the skins - No Problem!) My kids love them. Also, I cooked it for 4 hours to get the venison more tender. I also opted for fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Excellent soup recipe! I used leftover venison roast that had already been cooked and this made the meat even more tender. I also used fresh veggies but if you use carotts you need to let it cook a little longer. I also used garlic salt in place of the regular salt and still used the garlic powder also. Very tasty, will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really good, my boyfriend who doesnt like soup for dinner even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really a hit! I used ground venison and fresh vegetables and also used 4 boillon cubes. Will definitely be making this often. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love venison AND stew, so this recipe really hit the spot. Only change I made was to use 12 oz fresh veggies (carrot and red bell pepper) and I added 4 oz frozen baby peas for the last 15 minutes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Really enjoyed this recipe. Had 2 pounds of ground venison in the freezer, so I used that instead of cubed meat and doubled the recipe. Froze over half to enjoy throughout the winter months. Added a bit of tomato juice to add more broth. Makes a hearty warm meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDAPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mathews, Virginia, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States